StarWind iSCSI SAN
StarWind Native SAN for Hyper-V
 

starwind VTL bandwidth control

StarWind VTL, VTL Free, VTL Appliance

Moderators: art (staff), anton (staff), Anatoly (staff), Max (staff)

starwind VTL bandwidth control

Postby anthem » Thu May 24, 2018 5:21 pm

ok - just installed StarWind VTL on our veeam backup server and playing with offloading the backups to backblaze. . The transfer seems to happen right when you export the tape, which makes sense. however, is there any sort of bandwidth control (sort of like veeam has it for backups) - to restrict the total amount of bandwidth used to X Mbs' or something. Right now its hammering the entire 50m uplink into backblaze once the tape is exported. wondering if its possible to have it throttled to say 20meg/second so that it doesnt hammer the entire link.

Thanks
anthem
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Thu May 24, 2018 5:18 pm

Re: starwind VTL bandwidth control

Postby Oleg(staff) » Fri May 25, 2018 11:34 am

Actually, yoy can try to make changes into config file:
"MaxBackBlazeUploadSimultaneousNetConnections": "1",
"BackBlazePartSizeMb": "1",

Configuration file is located there:
c:\Program Files\StarWind Software\StarWind\CloudReplicator\config.json

You should restart service after this changes.
Oleg(staff)
Staff
 
Posts: 568
Joined: Fri Nov 24, 2017 7:52 am

Re: starwind VTL bandwidth control

Postby anthem » Sat May 26, 2018 3:46 pm

is the backblaze part size MB the bandwidth control amount ? As in is the "1" a true false flag or is that the amount of transfer rate that it will try to adhere to ? So I can set that to "10" for 10mb/sec ? and if that is the case, is that mbits or MB/sec ?
anthem
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Thu May 24, 2018 5:18 pm

Re: starwind VTL bandwidth control

Postby Oleg(staff) » Tue May 29, 2018 1:57 pm

No, this is the size of transfer block. Changing this parameter to the smaller value should reduce the transfer speed itself.
There is no direct mechanism of changing the speed at the current moment.
Oleg(staff)
Staff
 
Posts: 568
Joined: Fri Nov 24, 2017 7:52 am

Re: starwind VTL bandwidth control

Postby anthem » Mon Jun 04, 2018 10:49 pm

tried the settings, but it still uploads to backblaze at 60+ meg/sec. . . which essentially hammers the outgoing lan. . .
anthem
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Thu May 24, 2018 5:18 pm

Re: starwind VTL bandwidth control

Postby Oleg(staff) » Fri Jun 08, 2018 9:03 am

Unfortunately, for now, this way is only one to reduce the upload speed.
I have already informed our R&D team about your request. The possibility of speed restriction should be added to the next builds.
Oleg(staff)
Staff
 
Posts: 568
Joined: Fri Nov 24, 2017 7:52 am

Re: starwind VTL bandwidth control

Postby Terry3784 » Wed Jun 27, 2018 10:35 am

Morning! It is very important for me to choose the right provider, but you helped me with this. Thank you so much and keep in touch!
Terry3784
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Wed Jun 27, 2018 10:33 am

Re: starwind VTL bandwidth control

Postby Boris (staff) » Wed Jun 27, 2018 1:55 pm

Feel free to post any new questions you might have.
Boris (staff)
Staff
 
Posts: 805
Joined: Fri Jul 28, 2017 8:18 am


Return to StarWind Virtual Tape Library (VTL) & StarWind VTL Free, StarWind VTL Appliance

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest