StarWind iSCSI SAN
StarWind Native SAN for Hyper-V
 

Starwind iSCSI initiator problem

Initiator (iSCSI, FCoE, AoE, iSER and NVMe over Fabrics)

Moderators: art (staff), anton (staff), Anatoly (staff), Max (staff)

Starwind iSCSI initiator problem

Postby ianparcher » Tue Oct 23, 2012 3:36 pm

Hello all, looking for help with an issue.

Windows 2008 R2 box connecting via Starwind iSCSI initiator 5.6
To
Windows server standard 2007 SP2 running Starwind 5.8.2059

When I go through the wizard on the initiator when I select CHAP automount becomes greyed out. Even after the connection is created and I try to edit it the same thing. Automount this device is greyed out. So when I reboot it doesn't remount the drive. Is there something im missing here?
Thanks,
-Ian
ianparcher
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Tue Oct 23, 2012 3:05 pm

Re: Starwind iSCSI initiator problem

Postby anton (staff) » Tue Oct 23, 2012 5:00 pm

Stick with MS initiator for production. StarPort is supported as a legacy software only (say "thanks" to Microsoft).
Regards,
Anton Kolomyeytsev

Chief Technology Officer & Chief Architect, StarWind Software

Image
User avatar
anton (staff)
Site Admin
 
Posts: 3922
Joined: Fri Jun 18, 2004 12:03 am
Location: British Virgin Islands

Re: Starwind iSCSI initiator problem

Postby KurianOfBorg » Wed Jun 05, 2013 8:58 am

Why was this done?
KurianOfBorg
 
Posts: 9
Joined: Wed Jun 05, 2013 8:55 am

Re: Starwind iSCSI initiator problem

Postby Anatoly (staff) » Wed Jun 05, 2013 1:11 pm

Why was this done?

Would you please clarify that?
Thank you
Best regards,
Anatoly Vilchinsky
Global Engineering and Support Manager
www.starwind.com
[email protected]
User avatar
Anatoly (staff)
Staff
 
Posts: 1675
Joined: Tue Mar 01, 2011 8:28 am

Re: Starwind iSCSI initiator problem

Postby KurianOfBorg » Wed Jun 05, 2013 3:24 pm

I meant is there no case where the StarPort Initiator should be used anymore? Is it completely superceded by the Microsoft Initiator for all configurations?
KurianOfBorg
 
Posts: 9
Joined: Wed Jun 05, 2013 8:55 am

Re: Starwind iSCSI initiator problem

Postby anton (staff) » Wed Jun 05, 2013 3:58 pm

Microsoft does not support anything except MS initiator in production so with any issue we'll be the one to blame automagially... We don't want this (neither do you I guess) so please stick with MS initiator for production scenarios.

You can use StarWind initiator for experiments (to see how fast you can go for example) and for protocols Microsoft does not support so far: AoE and FCoE. Pure Test & Development is fine :)

KurianOfBorg wrote:I meant is there no case where the StarPort Initiator should be used anymore? Is it completely superceded by the Microsoft Initiator for all configurations?
Regards,
Anton Kolomyeytsev

Chief Technology Officer & Chief Architect, StarWind Software

Image
User avatar
anton (staff)
Site Admin
 
Posts: 3922
Joined: Fri Jun 18, 2004 12:03 am
Location: British Virgin Islands


Return to StarPort

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests