200 Failed: invalid partner info..

Software-based VM-centric and flash-friendly VM storage + free version

Moderators: anton (staff), art (staff), Max (staff), Anatoly (staff)

Post Reply
GSI
Posts: 6
Joined: Fri Feb 14, 2025 6:23 pm

Fri Feb 14, 2025 8:43 pm

Hi all,

I already went through thr forum and searched for a solution. I followed all the recommended solutions, and non has worked for me.
I am using the free VSAN and trying to use the CreateHAPartnerWitness.ps1.
Everytime I run it, I get this error message:

Request to PDX-VSAN.GSIWS.LOCAL ( 192.168.123.100 ) : 3261
-
control HAImage -CreateHeader:"Headers\Instance\Instance_HA.swdsk" -pathDirHeaderBackup:"My computer\S" -file:"imagefile1" -size:"12" -Priority:"#p0=0;#p1=1;#p2=2" -nodeType:"#p0=1;#p1=1;#p2=8
" -PartnerTargetName:"#p1=iqn.2008-08.com.starwindsoftware:las-vsan-instance;#p2=iqn.2008-08.com.starwindsoftware:192.168.127.9-instance" -PartnerIP:"#p1=192.168.130.101:sync:3260:1;#p2=192.16
8.127.100:sync:3260:1" -IsAutoSynchEnabled:"0" -AuthChapLogin:"#p1=0b;#p2=0b" -AuthChapPassword:"#p1=0b;#p2=0b" -AuthMChapName:"#p1=0b;#p2=0b" -AuthMChapSecret:"#p1=0b;#p2=0b" -AuthChapType:"#
p1=none;#p2=none" -Offset:"0" -CacheMode:"none" -CacheSizeMB:"0" -serial:"3350FBCD5DDEF810" -eui64:"3350FBCD5DDEF810" -revision:"0001" -product:"STARWIND" -vendor:"STARWIND" -FailoverConfType:
"1" -Replicator:"#p0=0" -WitnessType:"0" -AluaAccessState:"#p0=0;#p1=1;#p2=1"
-
200 Failed: invalid partner info..

Here is my script that run:

param($addr="192.168.123.100", $port=3261, $user="root", $password="starwind",
$addr2="192.168.130.100", $port2=$port, $user2=$user, $password2=$password,
$addrW="192.168.127.9", $portW=$port, $userW=$user, $passwordW=$password,
#common
$initMethod="SyncFromFirst",
$size=12,
$sectorSize=512,
$failover=1,
#$bmpType=1,
#$bmpStrategy=0,
#primary node
$imagePath="My computer\S",
$imageName="Instance",
$createImage=$true,
$storageName="",
$targetAlias="instance",
$poolName="",
$syncSessionCount=1,
$aluaOptimized=$true,
$cacheMode="none",
$cacheSize=0,
$syncInterface=$("#p2=192.168.130.101:3260;#p3=192.168.127.100:3260" -f $addr2,$addrW),
$hbInterface="",
$createTarget=$true,
#$bmpFolderPath="",
#secondary node
$imagePath2="My computer\S",
$imageName2="Instance",
$createImage2=$true,
$storageName2="",
$targetAlias2="instance",
$poolName2="",
$syncSessionCount2=1,
$aluaOptimized2=$false,
$cacheMode2=$cacheMode,
$cacheSize2=$cacheSize,
$syncInterface2=$("#p1=175.1.1.7:3260;#p3=192.168.127.100:3260" -f $addr,$addrW),
$hbInterface2="",
$createTarget2=$true,
#$bmpFolderPath2="",
#third node
$imagePathW="D:\",
$imageNameW="Instance",
$targetAliasW="instance",
$syncInterfaceW=$("#p1=175.1.1.7:3260;#p2=192.168.130.101:3260" -f $addr,$addr2),
$hbInterfaceW="",
$nodeTypeW=8
)

Import-Module StarWindX

try
{
Enable-SWXLog

$server = New-SWServer -host $addr -port $port -user $user -password $password

$server.Connect()

$firstNode = new-Object Node

$firstNode.HostName = $addr
$firstNode.HostPort = $port
$firstNode.ImagePath = $imagePath
$firstNode.ImageName = $imageName
$firstNode.Size = $size
$firstNode.CreateImage = $createImage
$firstNode.StorageName = $storageName
$firstNode.TargetAlias = $targetAlias
$firstNode.SyncInterface = $syncInterface
$firstNode.HBInterface = $hbInterface
$firstNode.PoolName = $poolName
$firstNode.SyncSessionCount = $syncSessionCount
$firstNode.ALUAOptimized = $aluaOptimized
$firstNode.SectorSize = $sectorSize
$firstNode.CacheMode = $cacheMode
$firstNode.CacheSize = $cacheSize
$firstNode.FailoverStrategy = $failover
$firstNode.CreateTarget = $createTarget
#$firstNode.BitmapStoreType = $bmpType
#$firstNode.BitmapStrategy = $bmpStrategy
#$firstNode.BitmapFolderPath = $bmpFolderPath

$secondNode = new-Object Node

$secondNode.HostName = $addr2
$secondNode.HostPort = $port2
$secondNode.Login = $user2
$secondNode.Password = $password2
$secondNode.ImagePath = $imagePath2
$secondNode.ImageName = $imageName2
$secondNode.CreateImage = $createImage2
$secondNode.StorageName = $storageName2
$secondNode.TargetAlias = $targetAlias2
$secondNode.SyncInterface = $syncInterface2
$secondNode.HBInterface = $hbInterface2
$secondNode.SyncSessionCount = $syncSessionCount2
$secondNode.ALUAOptimized = $aluaOptimized2
$secondNode.CacheMode = $cacheMode2
$secondNode.CacheSize = $cacheSize2
$secondNode.FailoverStrategy = $failover
$secondNode.CreateTarget = $createTarget2
#$secondNode.BitmapFolderPath = $bmpFolderPath2

$thirdNode = new-Object Node

$thirdNode.HostName = $addrW
$thirdNode.HostPort = $portW
$thirdNode.Login = $userW
$thirdNode.Password = $passwordW
$thirdNode.ImagePath = $imagePathW
$thirdNode.ImageName = $imageNameW
$thirdNode.TargetAlias = $targetAliasW
$thirdNode.SyncInterface = $syncInterfaceW
$thirdNode.HBInterface = $hbInterfaceW
$thirdNode.FailoverStrategy = $failover
$thirdNode.Type = $nodeTypeW

$device = Add-HADevice -server $server -firstNode $firstNode -secondNode $secondNode -thirdNode $thirdNode -initMethod $initMethod

$syncState = $device.GetPropertyValue("ha_synch_status")

while ($syncState -ne "1")
{
#
# Refresh device info
#
$device.Refresh()

$syncState = $device.GetPropertyValue("ha_synch_status")
$syncPercent = $device.GetPropertyValue("ha_synch_percent")

Start-Sleep -m 2000

Write-Host "Synchronizing: $($syncPercent)%" -foreground yellow
}
}
catch
{
Write-Host $_ -foreground yello
}
finally
{
$server.Disconnect()
}

Thank you in advance...
GSI
Posts: 6
Joined: Fri Feb 14, 2025 6:23 pm

Sun Feb 16, 2025 5:14 pm

Hi Yaroslav,

I already looked at that topic you referred to.
The script there applies to two nodes that are in the same location.
I have two nodes, each one is at a different location (geo-location), and I have a third location node just as a witness.
I am trying to use Node Majority and not heartbeat.
As I said in my original post, I tried everything, when I run the script, it does create the image on the first node, but not the second or the witness node.
IPs are correct, ports are specified, connection is good.
Any help is really appreciated.
yaroslav (staff)
Staff
Posts: 3324
Joined: Mon Nov 18, 2019 11:11 am

Sun Feb 16, 2025 9:34 pm

The script has useful hints that apply to your scenario (e.g., leaving out -f $addr from the channel lines, poolName parameter, etc).
Please also try a bigger size and return the default value for the poolName parameter.
What I am also thinking is commenting on the HB interface areas.
GSI
Posts: 6
Joined: Fri Feb 14, 2025 6:23 pm

Wed Feb 19, 2025 12:07 am

I followed the script and the hints, still same error.
Do you think the free VSAN doesn't support multi-location?
I have each node in a different location with different subnets, but they have IPSEC VPN connection.
yaroslav (staff)
Staff
Posts: 3324
Joined: Mon Nov 18, 2019 11:11 am

Wed Feb 19, 2025 5:35 am

No, it does support, I believe there is something missing in the script or networking is not OK (e.g., firewall, or latency). Please share the script with me.
GSI
Posts: 6
Joined: Fri Feb 14, 2025 6:23 pm

Wed Feb 19, 2025 10:59 pm

hi again,

I guess the scripts is working on creating the images on all nodes now after re-installing the software again.
The issue that I am running into now is the sync. when I run the script, it creates the image and the target on all nodes, and it starts the synchronization, but I waited almost two hours and still at 0%. Also, it says that the device is not synchronized and down.
I can ping all IPs and I know for sure that communication between all nodes on those Ips are fine.

Node1:
Management=192.168.123.100
Sync= 175.2.2.6
ISCSI= 172.2.2.6

Node2:
Management= 192.168.130.100
Sync= 173.1.1.7
ISCSI= 173.2.2.6

Node3 = Only as a witness for Node Majority-
Management= 192.168.127.9
Sync= 192.168.127.100

Code: Select all

param($addr="192.168.123.100", $port=3261, $user="root", $password="starwind",
	$addr2="192.168.130.100", $port2=$port, $user2=$user, $password2=$password,
	$addrW="192.168.127.9", $portW=$port, $userW=$user, $passwordW=$password,
#common
	$initMethod="SyncFromFirst",
	$size=1024,
	$sectorSize=512,
	$failover=1,
	$bmpType=1,
	$bmpStrategy=0,
#primary node
	$imagePath="My computer\S\Instance",
	$imageName="Instance",
	$createImage=$true,
	$storageName="",
	$targetAlias="Instance",
	$poolName="pool1",
	$syncSessionCount=1,
	$aluaOptimized=$true,
	$cacheMode="none",
	$cacheSize=0,
	$syncInterface="#p2=173.1.1.7:3260;#p3=192.168.127.100:3260",
	$hbInterface="#p2=173.1.1.7:3260;#p3=192.168.127.100:3260",
	$createTarget=$true,
	$bmpFolderPath="",
#secondary node
	$imagePath2="My computer\S\Instance",
	$imageName2="Instance",
	$createImage2=$true,
	$storageName2="",
	$targetAlias2="Instance",
	$poolName2="pool1",
	$syncSessionCount2=1,
	$aluaOptimized2=$false,
	$cacheMode2=$cacheMode,
	$cacheSize2=$cacheSize,
	$syncInterface2="#p1=175.2.2.6:3260;#p3=192.168.127.100:3260",
	$hbInterface2="#p1=175.2.2.6:3260;#p3=192.168.127.100:3260",
	$createTarget2=$true,
	$bmpFolderPath2="",
#third node
	$imagePathW="My computer\S\starwind",
	$imageNameW="Instance",
	$targetAliasW="Instance",
	$syncInterfaceW="#p1=175.2.2.6:3260;#p2=173.1.1.7:3260" ,
	$hbInterfaceW="",
	$nodeTypeW=8
	)

Import-Module StarWindX

try
{
	Enable-SWXLog

	$server = New-SWServer -host $addr -port $port -user $user -password $password

	$server.Connect()
    
	$firstNode = new-Object Node

	$firstNode.HostName = $addr
	$firstNode.HostPort = $port
	$firstNode.ImagePath = $imagePath
	$firstNode.ImageName = $imageName
	$firstNode.Size = $size
	$firstNode.CreateImage = $createImage
	$firstNode.StorageName = $storageName
	$firstNode.TargetAlias = $targetAlias
	$firstNode.SyncInterface = $syncInterface
	$firstNode.HBInterface = $hbInterface
	$firstNode.PoolName = $poolName
	$firstNode.SyncSessionCount = $syncSessionCount
	$firstNode.ALUAOptimized = $aluaOptimized
	$firstNode.SectorSize = $sectorSize
	$firstNode.CacheMode = $cacheMode
	$firstNode.CacheSize = $cacheSize
	$firstNode.FailoverStrategy = $failover
	$firstNode.CreateTarget = $createTarget
	$firstNode.BitmapStoreType = $bmpType
	$firstNode.BitmapStrategy = $bmpStrategy
	$firstNode.BitmapFolderPath = $bmpFolderPath
                                                   
	$secondNode = new-Object Node

	$secondNode.HostName = $addr2
	$secondNode.HostPort = $port2
	$secondNode.Login = $user2
	$secondNode.Password = $password2
	$secondNode.ImagePath = $imagePath2
	$secondNode.ImageName = $imageName2
	$secondNode.CreateImage = $createImage2
	$secondNode.StorageName = $storageName2
	$secondNode.TargetAlias = $targetAlias2
	$secondNode.SyncInterface = $syncInterface2
	$secondNode.HBInterface = $hbInterface2
	$secondNode.SyncSessionCount = $syncSessionCount2
	$secondNode.ALUAOptimized = $aluaOptimized2
	$secondNode.CacheMode = $cacheMode2
	$secondNode.CacheSize = $cacheSize2
	$secondNode.FailoverStrategy = $failover
	$secondNode.CreateTarget = $createTarget2
	$secondNode.BitmapFolderPath = $bmpFolderPath2

	$thirdNode = new-Object Node

	$thirdNode.HostName = $addrW
	$thirdNode.HostPort = $portW
	$thirdNode.Login = $userW
	$thirdNode.Password = $passwordW
	$thirdNode.ImagePath = $imagePathW
	$thirdNode.ImageName = $imageNameW
	$thirdNode.TargetAlias = $targetAliasW
	$thirdNode.SyncInterface = $syncInterfaceW
	$thirdNode.HBInterface = $hbInterfaceW
	$thirdNode.FailoverStrategy = $failover
	$thirdNode.Type = $nodeTypeW

	$device = Add-HADevice -server $server -firstNode $firstNode -secondNode $secondNode -thirdNode $thirdNode -initMethod $initMethod

	$syncState = $device.GetPropertyValue("ha_synch_status")

	while ($syncState -ne "1")
	{
		#
		# Refresh device info
		#
		$device.Refresh()

		$syncState = $device.GetPropertyValue("ha_synch_status")
		$syncPercent = $device.GetPropertyValue("ha_synch_percent")

		Start-Sleep -m 2000

		Write-Host "Synchronizing: $($syncPercent)%" -foreground yellow
	}
}
catch
{
	Write-Host $_ -foreground Yellow
}
finally
{
	$server.Disconnect()
}

yaroslav (staff)
Staff
Posts: 3324
Joined: Mon Nov 18, 2019 11:11 am

Thu Feb 20, 2025 7:08 am

It is not about ping but latencies, I believe. Please pull the logs from all 3 machines and share those with me.
In CVM, you can generate the support bundle in the gear-shaped menu -> Press the VM name -> Support bundle. Share that here https://www.starwindsoftware.com/support-form. Use 1285143 as your reference, otherwise, the case might not be investigated.
GSI
Posts: 6
Joined: Fri Feb 14, 2025 6:23 pm

Thu Feb 20, 2025 7:24 pm

Sorry, but I have no idea what you're talking about :).
I don't know where to look for the gear-shaped menu-> Press the VM name -> Support bundle.

It looks like you are talking about the CVM program, and I am using the VSAN on Windows.
yaroslav (staff)
Staff
Posts: 3324
Joined: Mon Nov 18, 2019 11:11 am

Thu Feb 20, 2025 7:46 pm

Got it. Please pull the logs as described here https://knowledgebase.starwindsoftware. ... collector/ and let me know what is the device name you are trying to sync
Post Reply