Backblaze B2 on VTL Free

StarWind VTL, VTL Free, VTL Appliance

Moderators: anton (staff), art (staff), Max (staff), Anatoly (staff)

apexit
Posts: 11
Joined: Tue Oct 01, 2019 10:01 pm

Tue Oct 01, 2019 10:06 pm

Hello,
I am really struggling to find proper documentation on how to configure Backblaze B2 on VTL Free. Can you please provide proper documentation on how to use the CLI to configure this?
I have the VTL Created and connected to my VEEAM B&R Instance, but cannot figure out what fields to modify properly on the Replication Powershell script.
Any help would be much appreciated! :D
Regards,
APEX IT
Boris (staff)
Staff
Posts: 805
Joined: Fri Jul 28, 2017 8:18 am

Wed Oct 02, 2019 8:43 am

Could you specify what exactly you have difficulties with?
apexit
Posts: 11
Joined: Tue Oct 01, 2019 10:01 pm

Thu Oct 03, 2019 5:42 pm

I cannot find the proper fields to fill in the Powershell script to connect to our Backblaze Bucket and Application Keys. There seems to be no documentation to reference on setting up via CLI. Can you point me in the right direction?
We were attempting to use the VTLReplicationSettings.ps1 script. Is this the correct one? what fields map to the Backblaze settings?
Thank you in advance!
Boris (staff)
Staff
Posts: 805
Joined: Fri Jul 28, 2017 8:18 am

Fri Oct 04, 2019 7:51 am

The script you reference is correct.
Check for

Code: Select all

$target=[StarWindVtlReplicationTarget]::REPLICATION_TARGET_S3,
and replace the value of the variable with:

Code: Select all

[StarWindVtlReplicationTarget]::REPLICATION_TARGET_BACKBLAZE
as seen lower in the script in the section that is commented out.
Also, at the parameters part at the top of the sample script you can find the variables for access key and secret access key.
Just let me know if that works.
apexit
Posts: 11
Joined: Tue Oct 01, 2019 10:01 pm

Mon Oct 07, 2019 3:37 pm

Below are the fields in the Script:
I have changed the $target as you mentioned.
I will enter accessKey = BackBlaze B2 Storage Application keyID
secretAccessKey = Backblaze Application Key string
Can you please describe each of the other fields below, since the script does not document the function of each field for Backblaze use?

param($addr="127.0.0.1", $port=3261, $user="root", $password="starwind",
$deviceName="VTL1",
$tapeName="",
$target=[StarWindVtlReplicationTarget]::REPLICATION_TARGET_BACKBLAZE,
$accessKey="",
$secretAccessKey="",
$regionName="us-east-1",
$containerName="YearlyArchive",
$keepLocal=-1,
$keepInCloud=-1,
$keepInStorage1=-1,
$keepInStorage2=-1,
$delayBeforeStart=0,
$serviceUrl)
Thank you!
-Scott
Boris (staff)
Staff
Posts: 805
Joined: Fri Jul 28, 2017 8:18 am

Tue Oct 08, 2019 9:04 am

$tapeName="", # name (barcode) of the tape you are trying to upload to your cloud location;
$target=[StarWindVtlReplicationTarget]::REPLICATION_TARGET_BACKBLAZE,
$accessKey="",
$secretAccessKey="",
$regionName="us-east-1", # not applicable to BackBlaze;
$containerName="YearlyArchive", # name of your bucket;
$keepLocal=-1, # -1 stands for "do not delete tape from disk after uploading", 0 stands for "delete immediately after uploading", 1 stands for "delete in 1 day" and so on;
$keepInCloud=-1, # similar to $keepLocal, same logic applies;
$keepInStorage1=-1, # not applicable to BackBlaze; for tiered cloud providers this means the number of days the tape is kept in hot storage tier (above logic applies);
$keepInStorage2=-1, # not applicable to BackBlaze; for tiered cloud providers this means the number of days the tape is kept in cold storage tier (above logic applies);
$delayBeforeStart=0, # days before tape uploading starts; -1 stands for "do not upload", 0 - "upload immediately", 1 - "upload in 1 day" and so on;
$serviceUrl) # not applicable to BackBlaze;

Tell me if you need more information.
apexit
Posts: 11
Joined: Tue Oct 01, 2019 10:01 pm

Tue Oct 08, 2019 8:13 pm

Thank you so very much! This was exactly what I needed to proceed.
As far as the Tape Name goes, how can I unsure that all future tapes that I backup to will be replicated to clound? Can I skip specifying the Tape or use a wildcard?
I was going to use SWIIF001 as the destination based on what I'm seeing in my StarWinds Console under Tapes - Barcode.
apexit
Posts: 11
Joined: Tue Oct 01, 2019 10:01 pm

Tue Oct 08, 2019 8:30 pm

I ran the command and received 'Index was outside of the bounds of the array.'
How can I confirm that the replication connection was setup correctly?
apexit
Posts: 11
Joined: Tue Oct 01, 2019 10:01 pm

Thu Oct 10, 2019 5:21 pm

Hello?
Boris (staff)
Staff
Posts: 805
Joined: Fri Jul 28, 2017 8:18 am

Fri Oct 11, 2019 7:07 am

Could you post your script and its output?
apexit
Posts: 11
Joined: Tue Oct 01, 2019 10:01 pm

Mon Oct 14, 2019 3:41 pm

Script config (Keys and password modified):
param($addr="127.0.0.1", $port=3261, $user="root", $password="password",
$deviceName="vtl1",
$tapeName="SWIIF001",# name (barcode) of the tape you are trying to upload to your cloud location;
$target="REPLICATION_TARGET_BACKBLAZE",
$accessKey="0044420c6a8e506604400044ee",
$secretAccessKey="B857+MckNOmE544u11t244KBe3p344f",
$regionName="us-east-1",# not applicable to BackBlaze;
$containerName="YearlyArchive",# name of your bucket;
$keepLocal=0,# -1 stands for "do not delete tape from disk after uploading", 0 stands for "delete immediately after uploading", 1 stands for "delete in 1 day" and so on;
$keepInCloud=-1,# similar to $keepLocal, same logic applies;
$keepInStorage1=-1,# not applicable to BackBlaze; for tiered cloud providers this means the number of days the tape is kept in hot storage tier (above logic applies);
$keepInStorage2=-1,# not applicable to BackBlaze; for tiered cloud providers this means the number of days the tape is kept in cold storage tier (above logic applies);
$delayBeforeStart=0,# days before tape uploading starts; -1 stands for "do not upload", 0 - "upload immediately", 1 - "upload in 1 day" and so on;
$serviceUrl)# not applicable to BackBlaze;

Script Output:
PS C:\Users\min\Desktop\MyStarWindScripts> .\VTLReplicationSettings.ps1


Name : vtl1
DeviceType : VTL
DeviceId : 0x000001F7CA39D344
File :
TargetName : iqn.2008-08.com.starwindsoftware:svr.domain.com-targetvtl1
TargetId : 0x000001F7CA41C144
Size : 0
CacheMode : empty
CacheSize : empty
CacheBlockExpiryPeriod : empty
Exists : True
DeviceLUN : 0
IsSnapshotsSupported : False
Snapshots :
SectorSize :
State : 0
Tapes : System.__ComObject
AvailableSlots : 95
TransportSlots : 1
DriveSlots : 4
ImportExportSlots : 3
StorageSlots : 96
Slots : System.__ComObject
ReplicationSettings : System.__ComObject
DriveType : 8

Target : 0
AccessKey :
SecretAccessKey :
RegionName :
ContainerName :
KeepLocal : -1
KeepInCloud : -1
KeepInStorage1 : -1
KeepInStorage2 : -1
DelayBeforeStart : -1
ServiceUrl :

Index was outside the bounds of the array.
Boris (staff)
Staff
Posts: 805
Joined: Fri Jul 28, 2017 8:18 am

Tue Oct 15, 2019 7:37 am

In the first row, I would try commenting out the variables that are not applicable to Backblaze. Just put the hash sign in front of them, not behind.
After this, let me know the result of the script run.
apexit
Posts: 11
Joined: Tue Oct 01, 2019 10:01 pm

Tue Oct 15, 2019 7:13 pm

I am getting the same error with the Comment in from of each variable as below:

I have tried commenting them out, completely removing the variables I'm not using, and restarting from scratch template.
I've got limited time left to get this working before I have to look elsewhere for a solution.
Thanks!
Boris (staff)
Staff
Posts: 805
Joined: Fri Jul 28, 2017 8:18 am

Wed Oct 16, 2019 2:57 pm

Submit a ticket with a link to this forum thread. I do believe something is missing in your script.
apexit
Posts: 11
Joined: Tue Oct 01, 2019 10:01 pm

Wed Oct 16, 2019 3:07 pm

Okay. I've setup a Case and will update the thread with the results.
Regards,
-Scott
Post Reply