Page 1 of 1

Add Sync interface to HAImage

Posted: Tue Mar 02, 2021 4:53 pm
by zyrix1st
Hi all,
i have a 2-node hyper-converged cluster on Hyper-V, with VSAN (free) installed and operating smoothly since 1 year (it's exposing Witness and Data storage area).
The original config has 1x 1Gbit channel for Sync and 1x 1Gbit channel for heartbeat (both on crossover direct cable between the hosts).

I've recently added a 10Gbe NIC to both the servers (linked with direct SFP+ cable) and now i'm planning to add this link to "Sync" in the VSAN.
Which way is the most "correct" to do this change? through Powershell? through manual editing of the XML of the VSAN? in which order?
All the links are on differente subnets of course; and i want to mantain both channel (1Gb + 10Gb) for the sync interface, in order to maximize reliability.

thanks in advance for any suggestions!

Re: Add Sync interface to HAImage

Posted: Wed Mar 03, 2021 8:58 am
by yaroslav (staff)
Welcome to StarWind Forum!
You need edit the config files.
1. Make sure that HA devices are synchronized.
2. Make sure that they have both partner and local connections (check targets in StarWind Management Console from both sides)
3. Stop StarWind Service on 1 server
4. Copy the _HA.swdsk header and edit _HA.swdsk (that's one you are to edit).
5. Locate <links>

Code: Select all

<links>
              <link id="1" type="data" priority="1" connections="1">
                <peer ip="10.10.30.10" port="3260"/>
              </link>
               <link id="5" type="control" priority="1" connections="1">
                <peer ip="10.10.60.10" port="3260"/>
              </link>
add more "data" connection which looks like this (type there your IP)

Code: Select all

<link id="1" type="data" priority="1" connections="1">
                <peer ip="10.10.30.10" port="3260"/>
              </link>
6. Do that to all HA device headers.
7. Start StarWindService on host 1.
8. Wait for the sync to finish.
9. Repeat to the remaining server.

Re: Add Sync interface to HAImage

Posted: Wed Mar 03, 2021 4:12 pm
by zyrix1st
Thank you yaroslav for the answer. It's all clear!

Just a clarification:
* the "id" parameter: should i change to another value for the "new" link item? (for your example, the new "link" item should be have id="2"?)
* can/should i tweak the "priority" parameter in order to maximize the usage of the 10Gb link instead of the 1Gb?
bigger priority values is for greater priority or vice-versa?

Re: Add Sync interface to HAImage

Posted: Wed Mar 03, 2021 4:23 pm
by yaroslav (staff)
Hi,

Yes, set new ID.
No. Just use 10 GB link instead of 1 GB and 10 GB. StarWind VSAN uses Round Robin for distribution of synchronization traffic.
Given that, just use 10 GB link for sync to avoid slowed synchronization.