Page 1 of 1

CreateHA_2.ps1 invalid partner info

Posted: Mon Nov 09, 2020 11:31 pm
by evilspectre
When running CreateHA_2.ps1 on vsan free license with Linux vsan appliances I get the following error.

Code: Select all

Request to  10.250.0.71 ( 10.250.0.71 ) : 3261
-
control HAImage -CreateHeader:"" -DeviceHeaderPath:"\mnt\raid\raid1_HA.swdsk" -Type:"ImageFile_HA" -file:"imagefile1" -size:"455680" -Priority:"#p0=0;#p1=1" -nodeType:"#p0=1;#p1=1" -PartnerTargetName:"#p1=iqn.2008-08.com.starwindsoftware:10.250.0.72-vsan02" -PartnerIP:"#p1=10.250.0.72:sync:3260:1,#p2=10.10.0.72:heartbeat:3260:1,10.251.0.72:heartbeat:3260:1" -IsAutoSynchEnabled:"1" -AuthChapLogin:"#p1=0b" -AuthChapPassword:"#p1=0b" -AuthMChapName:"#p1=0b" -AuthMChapSecret:"#p1=0b" -AuthChapType:"#p1=none" -Offset:"0" -CacheMode:"none" -CacheSizeMB:"64" -serial:"566EB3E996507049" -eui64:"566EB3E996507049" -revision:"0001" -product:"STARWIND" -vendor:"STARWIND" -Replicator:"#p0=0" -WitnessType:"0" -AluaAccessState:"#p0=0;#p1=0"
-
200 Failed: invalid partner info..
Am I missing something else that I need to do before running that script?

Below is config.

Thanks for the help.

Code: Select all

param($addr="10.250.0.71", $port=3261, $user="root", $password="starwind",
	$addr2="10.250.0.72", $port2=$port, $user2=$user, $password2=$password,
#common
	$initMethod="Clear",
	$size=455680,
	$sectorSize=512,
	$failover=0,
#primary node
	$imagePath="\mnt\raid",
	$imageName="raid1",
	$createImage=$true,
	$storageName="",
	$targetAlias="vsan01",
	$autoSynch=$true,
	$poolName="vsanpool",
	$syncSessionCount=1,
	$aluaOptimized=$true,
	$cacheMode="none",
	# $cacheSize=128,
	$syncInterface="#p2=10.250.0.72:3260",
	$hbInterface="#p2=10.251.0.72:3260,#p2=10.10.0.72:3260",
	$createTarget=$true,
#secondary node
	$imagePath2="\mnt\raid",
	$imageName2="raid2",
	$createImage2=$true,
	$storageName2="",
	$targetAlias2="vsan02",
	$autoSynch2=$true,
	$poolName2="vsanpool",
	$syncSessionCount2=1,
	$aluaOptimized2=$true,
	$cacheMode2=$cacheMode,
	# $cacheSize2=$cacheSize,
	$syncInterface2="#p1=10.250.0.71:3260",
	$hbInterface2="#p1=10.251.0.71:3260,#p1=10.10.0.71:3260",
	$createTarget2=$true
	)

Re: CreateHA_2.ps1 invalid partner info

Posted: Tue Nov 10, 2020 4:30 am
by yaroslav (staff)
Greetings,
Welcome to StarWind forum.
$hbInterface="#p2=10.251.0.72:3260,#p2=10.10.0.72:3260" should be changed to $hbInterface="#p2=10.251.0.72,10.10.0.72:3260". Apply the same change to partner IP address.
Also add $addr and $addr2 as it was specified by default.
See a good sample script here https://forums.starwindsoftware.com/vie ... A&start=15.

Re: CreateHA_2.ps1 invalid partner info

Posted: Tue Nov 10, 2020 5:44 pm
by evilspectre
Good Morning yaroslav,

That did it for me. Drive is now syncing. Thanks for the help.

Re: CreateHA_2.ps1 invalid partner info

Posted: Tue Nov 10, 2020 7:52 pm
by yaroslav (staff)
You are always welcome :)
Small trick: create a 1 GB device first and extend it with the ExtendDevice script afterwards.

Re: CreateHA_2.ps1 invalid partner info

Posted: Fri Jan 22, 2021 5:27 pm
by cre8toruk
Hi Can I ask a dumb question (ok then I will!)... I'm struggling with the script knowing what address refers to what.
I have a Server with two NIC's;
LAN address of 192.168.10.200 with a separate "STORAGE-NET" nic with an address of 192.168.0.1
a second server with
LAN address of 192.168.10.201 with a separate "STORAGE-NET" nic of 192.168.0.2

What goes in where in the script please?
Oh and I was getting the same error.

thanks in advance.

Paul.

Re: CreateHA_2.ps1 invalid partner info

Posted: Fri Jan 22, 2021 6:06 pm
by cre8toruk
ok ... I made a guess and was able to create some volumes and have them sync.
I've now made some mods and started again... I've specified 24TB in size e.g. $size=24000000 which has created the drives... but now it's just saying Synchronizing 0% repeatedly.
If it's just going to take some time then that's fine.
I also changed the targetalias to "dr01" for the first server and "dr02" for the second one. The targets appear in the iscsi initiator but I can't connect to them "Server is unavailable" just busy or some other issue ?

thanks in advance.

Paul.

Re: CreateHA_2.ps1 invalid partner info

Posted: Fri Jan 22, 2021 6:17 pm
by yaroslav (staff)
Greetings,

Welcome to StarWind Forum! See the script here https://forums.starwindsoftware.com/vie ... A&start=15.
As heartbeat you need to use the management (i.e., server or VM IP address) and iSCSI (network you use to present storage over the network). For sync, please make sure to use a dedicated link.

Currently, you won't be able to connect to the not synchronized server. Wait for full sync to be over.
Sync will take some time. As a workaround, you can create a 1 GB device and extend it with ExtendDevice.ps1. Saves you a lot of time. Just restart the service on the active side now to interrupt full sync and recreate the drive to save some time.