StarWind iSCSI SAN
StarWind Native SAN for Hyper-V
 

VTL & Azure blob Archive tier - REST API method?

Pure software-based VM-centric and flash-friendly VM storage (iSCSI, SMB3, NFS, iSER and NVMe over Fabrics) including free version. Same software embedded on StarWind ready nodes.

Moderators: art (staff), anton (staff), Anatoly (staff), Max (staff)

VTL & Azure blob Archive tier - REST API method?

Postby veehexx » Mon Mar 30, 2020 1:53 pm

We're researching the costs involved to use the Azure storage blob archive teir. we know it has to be written to another tier first before re-tiering to archive.

Microsoft charge for operations and i'm curious to know what method the vSAN VTL feature uses to re-tier the data to archive. Is it the obvious 'Set Blob Tier' REST API function (https://docs.microsoft.com/en-us/rest/a ... -blob-tier) so it will only cost 1 operation? if not, what does it use?
veehexx
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Mon Mar 30, 2020 1:44 pm

Re: VTL & Azure blob Archive tier - REST API method?

Postby yaroslav (staff) » Tue Mar 31, 2020 12:46 pm

Hello,

Set Blob Tier is used only if you have configured automatic tiering in Azure (say, data expires to Archive tier at some point).
Cloud Replicator configuration done for Azure outlined here https://www.starwindsoftware.com/resour ... 0cb805fc3e should match Azure settings. Well, if they do not match, this may lead to additional data moves (say if StarWind Cloud Replicator is tuned to expire the tape earlier than Azure).
To sum up, you are right, there are no additional transactions from StarWind VTL for moving tapes between tiers: you pay only what Microsoft wants you to. Make sure that StarWind Cloud Replicator Settings match ones set for Azure and all should be fine.
yaroslav (staff)
Staff
 
Posts: 218
Joined: Mon Nov 18, 2019 11:11 am


Return to StarWind Virtual SAN / StarWind Virtual SAN Free / StarWind HyperConverged Appliance / StarWind Storage Appliance

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 10 guests