StarWind iSCSI SAN
StarWind Native SAN for Hyper-V
 

using RAID cache

Pure software-based VM-centric and flash-friendly VM storage (iSCSI, SMB3, NFS, iSER and NVMe over Fabrics) including free version. Same software embedded on StarWind ready nodes.

Moderators: art (staff), anton (staff), Anatoly (staff), Max (staff)

using RAID cache

Postby ad-it » Tue Dec 03, 2019 9:11 am

Hello. I plan to buld something like this: some pretty old ddr3 server with 24 sff drive bays filled with 4Tb SSD's in raid50, 48Gb ddr3 ram(32Gb for starwind cache), and RAID lsi 9480-8i8e (4Gb ddr4 cache).
Question is should i use raid card cache when using starwind ram cache and all flash array? If not, i may take some cheaper raid card or card without cache at all.
ad-it
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Tue Dec 03, 2019 9:03 am

Re: using RAID cache

Postby Boris (staff) » Tue Dec 03, 2019 12:19 pm

Our KB article at https://knowledgebase.starwindsoftware. ... ssd-disks/ offers all relevant settings for all types of supported RAID arrays. In your case, you would use "write-through" for write operations and "no read ahead" for read operations. Hope this helps.
Boris (staff)
Staff
 
Posts: 806
Joined: Fri Jul 28, 2017 8:18 am


Return to StarWind Virtual SAN / StarWind Virtual SAN Free / StarWind HyperConverged Appliance / StarWind Storage Appliance

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests