StarWind iSCSI SAN
StarWind Native SAN for Hyper-V
 

Brand new setup - iSCSI not showing

Pure software-based VM-centric and flash-friendly VM storage (iSCSI, SMB3, NFS, iSER and NVMe over Fabrics) including free version. Same software embedded on StarWind ready nodes.

Moderators: art (staff), anton (staff), Anatoly (staff), Max (staff)

Brand new setup - iSCSI not showing

Postby sburns1992 » Tue Mar 05, 2019 2:36 pm

Good afternoon,

Firstly, apologies if his has already been posted.

I have three freshly built HP servers. Currently only have 1 NIC each (not ideal I know, but that's what I'm dealing with at the moment), so I will be using node majority.

Server 1 & 2 are to be the two vSANs and server 3 is going to be the witness.
Server1: 192.168.0.220
Server2: 192.168.0.240
Server3: 192.168.0.151

I have been following this guide: https://www.starwindsoftware.com/resour ... erver-2016
But at the section where it mentions 'Connecting targets' - only the 2 hosts are visible, the witness does not show in the list of iSCSI connections.
iSCSI.PNG
iSCSI.PNG (14.91 KiB) Viewed 2822 times

Am I doing something wrong?
Is there a better way to get HA setup with two hosts that only have 1 NIC?

Thanks in advance.
sburns1992
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Tue Mar 05, 2019 1:20 pm

Re: Brand new setup - iSCSI not showing

Postby Oleg(staff) » Fri Mar 08, 2019 8:04 am

Hello,
You do not need to connect the Witness node via ISCSI.
You can find more information here.
Also, it is highly recommended to use separated NICs for StarWind ISCSI and synchronization traffic.
Oleg(staff)
Staff
 
Posts: 567
Joined: Fri Nov 24, 2017 7:52 am


Return to StarWind Virtual SAN / StarWind Virtual SAN Free / StarWind HyperConverged Appliance / StarWind Storage Appliance

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 5 guests