My Setup:Guidance

Software-based VM-centric and flash-friendly VM storage + free version

Moderators: anton (staff), art (staff), Max (staff), Anatoly (staff)

merryweathertech

Mon Oct 08, 2018 9:26 pm

Hi - First, Thank You for a fantastic product. Well Done! I am new to SAN and I just wanted to get some guidance on my setup. Here is what I want to accomplish:

2 Node HA SAN - Virtual SAN Free on top of stand-alone Windows 2012 R2 hosts

1 Client - ESXi with a 2008 R2 Guest running MS SQL Server

My main questions are:

1) How can I achieve the best throughput between nodes themselves and client to nodes - I am using 10 GBe and can put as many adapters in these 3 servers as needed; I would like to have two separate targets for data and log files for SQL (different disk speeds in SAN)
2) What does the MPIO/iSCSI configuration and path policy need to be on the 2 StarWind nodes and the ESXi Client (probably my biggest source of confusion)
3) I am confused about the network setup when setting up replicas. Does the management ip/port support iSCSI traffic? Should I be using it for anything other than management?

Thank you for any help you can provide.

Best Regards - Gordon
Vitaliy (Staff)
Staff

Tue Oct 09, 2018 8:47 pm

Hello Gordon,

Thank you for your feedback and evaluation of the product.

First of all please find the configuration guide for vSphere 6.0 and 6.5:
https://www.starwindsoftware.com/resour ... sphere-6-0
https://www.starwindsoftware.com/resour ... sphere-6-5

1) How can I achieve the best throughput between nodes themselves and client to nodes - I am using 10 GBe and can put as many adapters in these 3 servers as needed; I would like to have two separate targets for data and log files for SQL (different disk speeds in SAN)
I would suggest configuring one 10 Gb channel for Sync between Windows 2012 R2 (Storage) nodes and two 10 Gb channels from ESXi to Storage nodes for iSCSI traffic. Diagram looks like triangle.