How to change management interface login/password?

Software-based VM-centric and flash-friendly VM storage + free version

Moderators: anton (staff), art (staff), Max (staff), Anatoly (staff)

Post Reply
gbmaster
Posts: 2
Joined: Mon Sep 03, 2018 12:58 am

Mon Sep 24, 2018 4:04 am

The default login/password for VSAN is root/starwind, and this is published everywhere.

For security reasons, I want to change the default login/password. Could somebody tell me how to do this, or point me at the right document?
Sorry for the dumb question!
Boris (staff)
Staff
Posts: 805
Joined: Fri Jul 28, 2017 8:18 am

Mon Sep 24, 2018 3:02 pm

Connect to the StarWind server using the StarWind Management Console, select the server in the left pane and proceed with the steps as shown in the picture:
Attachments
ChangeCreds.jpg
ChangeCreds.jpg (79.38 KiB) Viewed 33312 times
Sekkmer
Posts: 29
Joined: Thu Mar 08, 2018 12:11 pm

Wed Sep 26, 2018 2:32 pm

if you want to do it on PowerShell you can use the following functions:

$server.GetServerParameter("<name>")
$server.SetServerParameter("<name>", "<value>")

name = "Password" in this case

raw format: "##" + ToBase64(MD5(password))

original: "##evVRsIJtRmAEEd2sCslZDg==" from "starwind"

$server.SetServerParameter("Password", "##iBYllcWJOcSuCzXzmJLm5w==") to change password to "new_password"
Boris (staff)
Staff
Posts: 805
Joined: Fri Jul 28, 2017 8:18 am

Wed Sep 26, 2018 5:42 pm

Sekkmer,

Thanks for providing the other option to perform that.
reshad.alrabeh
Posts: 1
Joined: Thu Nov 01, 2018 11:59 am

Thu Nov 01, 2018 12:01 pm

Hi Sekkmer,

Thank you for providing the information. Is there some documentation or other source we can look to so we can find out what the server parameters are? I have looked online and in the StarwindX samples, and I cannot seem to find any mention of which server parameters are available to retrieve/set.

Thanks,
Reshad
Sekkmer
Posts: 29
Joined: Thu Mar 08, 2018 12:11 pm

Thu Nov 01, 2018 4:44 pm

Well, there is no documentation for this but you can look into the logs and at the beginning of it you can find a list of them but I am not sure if they are complete or not.

I made a class in C# which implement all of these trough reflection (region IValues):

https://github.com/Sekkmer/StarWindXExt ... rverExt.cs

Or here is a list of them:

LogLevel
LogMask
LogRotateSize
LogRotateKeepLastFiles
UpdatePeriod
UpdateHost
UpdatePage
UpdatePort
UpdateCopyId
UpdateLastRequest
WUSCEnabled
SrvWasDisabled
SrvRestoreStartType
VaaiExCopyEnabled
VaaiCawEnabled
VaaiWriteSameEnabled
OdxEnabled
OdxOptimalRodSizeMB
OdxMaximumRodSizeMB
OdxRodTokenDefaultTimeoutSec
OdxRodTokenMaximumTimeoutSec
Port
Interface
BCastEnable
BCastInterface
BCastPort
Login
Password
MinBufferSize
AlignmentMask
MaxPendingRequests
iScsiPingPeriod
iScsiDiscoveryListInterfaces
ServerIoWorkersCount
ServerIoWorkersConcurency
CmdExecTimeWarningLimitInSec
iScisCmdSendCmdTimeoutInSec
iSerListen
LocalizationDir
DefaultStoragePoolPath
ExperimentalLSFS
ClusterName
ClusterGUID
ClusterSettingsVersion
ClusterNodes
ClusterSync
ClusterHeartbeat
DataBaseRoot
DBRotationDays
DBFileSizeDays
PerformanceMonitorEnabled
PerformanceRoot
FSMThresholdPercent
FSMCheckPeriodSeconds
FSMEnabled
Oleg(staff)
Staff
Posts: 568
Joined: Fri Nov 24, 2017 7:52 am

Mon Nov 05, 2018 1:50 pm

Sekkmer,
Thank you for your researches and for keeping the community updated.
vbjp
Posts: 1
Joined: Tue Mar 05, 2024 10:16 am

Tue Mar 05, 2024 10:24 am

Can anyone explain ho you get
"##evVRsIJtRmAEEd2sCslZDg==" from "starwind"

Tried using this
raw format: "##" + ToBase64(MD5(password))

Md5 of starwind is 7af551b0826d46600411ddac0ac9590e

Then convert it to base64

N2FmNTUxYjA4MjZkNDY2MDA0MTFkZGFjMGFjOTU5MGU=

Then ##+
##N2FmNTUxYjA4MjZkNDY2MDA0MTFkZGFjMGFjOTU5MGU=

Or I am missing something?
yaroslav (staff)
Staff
Posts: 2530
Joined: Mon Nov 18, 2019 11:11 am

Tue Mar 05, 2024 10:38 am

Check this out. viewtopic.php?f=5&t=6001&p=33727&hilit= ... ZDg#p33727
What you need to do is generating the suitable encryption yourself to simulate the way StarWind Management Console does it.
Post Reply