New setup scenario / sanity check

Software-based VM-centric and flash-friendly VM storage + free version

Moderators: anton (staff), art (staff), Max (staff), Anatoly (staff)

Ardie

Mon Jul 30, 2018 4:13 pm

Hello,

I am new to this product and am jJust looking for any advice or confirmation on this plan. I have been following along as best I can with this guide (https://www.starwindsoftware.com/resour ... erver-2016) however as I only have the one host available at the moment I am not 100% sure on what items I can skip and come back to.

* I have a new server running Hyper-V Server 2016 (192.168.0.20)
* I have an old server running Hyper-V Server 2012 R2 (192.168.0.10)

My goal is to set up the 2016 server, migrate VMs, bring down the 2012 R2 server, and upgrade it to 2016 as well.

The 2016 server has an array of SSD's and an array of HDD's, the storage in the 2012 R2 server will match once I can bring it down and perform the upgrades. I have installed VSAN and configured a device on the SSD array called "SSDStorage", I have configured another device called "HDDStorage" on the HDD array. As I currently only have the one host I cannot set up replication at this time.

1) Is there anything I should be aware of or try to do differently regarding the above configuration?

2) In iscsicpl, I have added only 127.0.0.1 to the target portals, should I be adding the 192.168.0.20 address as well?

3) Both servers only have two ethernet adapters, at this time I have configured only the first NIC with an IP address on the private LAN. I assume I do not need to configure anything for the second NIC until I have the second host operational?

Thanks!
Boris (staff)
Staff

Mon Jul 30, 2018 9:27 pm

Ardie,