StarWind iSCSI SAN
StarWind Native SAN for Hyper-V
 

VMware Linux VSA

Pure software-based VM-centric and flash-friendly VM storage (iSCSI, SMB3, NFS, iSER and NVMe over Fabrics) including free version. Same software embedded on StarWind ready nodes.

Moderators: art (staff), anton (staff), Anatoly (staff), Max (staff)

VMware Linux VSA

Postby xscapee1975 » Wed Apr 26, 2017 6:43 pm

Just installed the VSA for VMware. It starts to boot and comes to a screen asking for a password. Password (/dev/sda2):
Attachments
VSA.PNG
VSA.PNG (30.62 KiB) Viewed 24888 times
xscapee1975
 
Posts: 8
Joined: Tue Jan 24, 2017 12:14 am

Re: VMware Linux VSA

Postby Ivan (staff) » Thu Apr 27, 2017 12:55 pm

Hello xscapee1975,
Thanks for interesting in StarWind solution
Did you try to reboot this VM? Would it be possible to redeploy OVF template?
Please keep us updated
Ivan (staff)
Staff
 
Posts: 171
Joined: Thu Mar 09, 2017 6:30 pm

Re: VMware Linux VSA

Postby xscapee1975 » Thu Apr 27, 2017 8:33 pm

Hi Ivan,

I did delete the VM and downloaded the OVF again and re-installed. Same issue. Does your OVF require ESXi 6.0? I am trying this on 5.5u3. I have the VM compatibility set to hardware level 10. I did try the OVF in VMware Workstation 12.5 and it works fine there. I may try to export it from Workstation to ESXi and see if that works.

Thank you,

Jeff
xscapee1975
 
Posts: 8
Joined: Tue Jan 24, 2017 12:14 am

Re: VMware Linux VSA

Postby UAnton » Sun Apr 30, 2017 7:13 pm

Have same problem.
Support cant't resolve it!
Always stupid answers like - Please read docs, try read this PDF...
UAnton
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Sun Apr 30, 2017 7:11 pm

Re: VMware Linux VSA

Postby tohoken » Mon May 01, 2017 5:32 pm

I am having the exact same issue. I have tried rebooting and even downloading the virtual appliance again. I am trying in a ESXi 6.5 host. I also have the same issue with Workstation 12.5. If anyone at Starwind is monitoring this forum please provide some information.
tohoken
 
Posts: 9
Joined: Mon May 01, 2017 5:29 pm

Re: VMware Linux VSA

Postby Al (staff) » Tue May 02, 2017 3:10 pm

Hey guys,

Thank you for your interest in our solution :)

We are trying to reproduce your issue in our lab, but, unfortunatelly could not face the same issue. Could you please provide more information about you environment (detailed server info you are tryin to install VSA)?

Thanks in advance!
Al (staff)
Staff
 
Posts: 43
Joined: Tue Jul 26, 2016 2:26 pm

Re: VMware Linux VSA

Postby tohoken » Tue May 02, 2017 6:08 pm

I am trying to install on esxi 6.5. I have also tried to install in VMware Workstation 12.5. I have downloaded the package twice. Maybe you can list the exact steps your lab team is following for installation.
tohoken
 
Posts: 9
Joined: Mon May 01, 2017 5:29 pm

Re: VMware Linux VSA

Postby xscapee1975 » Tue May 02, 2017 6:09 pm

Hi guys,

So what I figured out is that error is causing by a processor issue. There are older Xeon procs that don't contain the instruction set for that type of encryption. I vmotioned the VM to a new host and it will boot now. The problem I have now is I cannot get the zoom to go down in the web page or the console. It is stuck on 162% and I cannot see the whole screen. I gave the VM more video RAM, which I should not have to do and the problem got only slightly better.
Happens in all browsers.

So a try a different processor type on another host and see if it works...

I tried workstation 12.5 and that worked. But it was a newer gen Core i7 proc.
xscapee1975
 
Posts: 8
Joined: Tue Jan 24, 2017 12:14 am

Re: VMware Linux VSA

Postby xscapee1975 » Tue May 02, 2017 6:20 pm

The proc type that did not work was a Xeon X7460. The proc type that did work is a Xeon X5650.
xscapee1975
 
Posts: 8
Joined: Tue Jan 24, 2017 12:14 am

Re: VMware Linux VSA

Postby tohoken » Tue May 02, 2017 6:24 pm

I am using a Xeon L5640 and it is not working for me.
tohoken
 
Posts: 9
Joined: Mon May 01, 2017 5:29 pm

Re: VMware Linux VSA

Postby xscapee1975 » Tue May 02, 2017 6:31 pm

tohoken wrote:I am using a Xeon L5640 and it is not working for me.


What version of VMware? What VM hardware version? You get the same error that I was getting?
xscapee1975
 
Posts: 8
Joined: Tue Jan 24, 2017 12:14 am

Re: VMware Linux VSA

Postby tohoken » Tue May 02, 2017 6:39 pm

Yes, I get the exact same error that you posted. Using ESXi 6.5. I am not changing any settings so the hardware version is what comes from the ovf.
tohoken
 
Posts: 9
Joined: Mon May 01, 2017 5:29 pm

Re: VMware Linux VSA

Postby xscapee1975 » Tue May 02, 2017 6:48 pm

tohoken wrote:Yes, I get the exact same error that you posted. Using ESXi 6.5. I am not changing any settings so the hardware version is what comes from the ovf.


Well when I installed it, it was hardware version 8. You should be on version 11 at least with 6.5. Do you have VMware EVC mode enabled on the host?
xscapee1975
 
Posts: 8
Joined: Tue Jan 24, 2017 12:14 am

Re: VMware Linux VSA

Postby tohoken » Tue May 02, 2017 7:47 pm

This is a single esxi host, no clusters so no EVC. I have no idea how to fix this.
tohoken
 
Posts: 9
Joined: Mon May 01, 2017 5:29 pm

Re: VMware Linux VSA

Postby xscapee1975 » Tue May 02, 2017 8:03 pm

tohoken wrote:This is a single esxi host, no clusters so no EVC. I have no idea how to fix this.


It could be the L series processor. What type of machine is the host? My L series proc wont run it.
xscapee1975
 
Posts: 8
Joined: Tue Jan 24, 2017 12:14 am

Next

Return to StarWind Virtual SAN / StarWind Virtual SAN Free / StarWind HyperConverged Appliance / StarWind Storage Appliance

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot] and 4 guests