StarWind iSCSI SAN
StarWind Native SAN for Hyper-V
 

UI Bugs

Pure software-based VM-centric and flash-friendly VM storage (iSCSI, SMB3, NFS, iSER and NVMe over Fabrics) including free version. Same software embedded on StarWind ready nodes.

Moderators: art (staff), anton (staff), Anatoly (staff), Max (staff)

UI Bugs

Postby Tim » Mon Jun 02, 2014 8:40 am

I have v8.0.6798 running on Server 2012 r2u1 fully patched.

The minimize/maximize buttons on the Starwind Management Console do not work.
The Close button works and clicking the the taskbar icon does minimize to the tray.

Tim
Tim
 
Posts: 92
Joined: Mon Jul 18, 2005 7:27 pm

Re: UI Bugs

Postby anton (staff) » Mon Jun 02, 2014 8:42 am

1) It's not Beta it's RELEASE (moved topic).

2) It's by design. We'll remove rudimentary buttons however. Thanks for pointing!
Regards,
Anton Kolomyeytsev

Chief Technology Officer & Chief Architect, StarWind Software

Image
User avatar
anton (staff)
Site Admin
 
Posts: 3920
Joined: Fri Jun 18, 2004 12:03 am
Location: British Virgin Islands

Re: UI Bugs

Postby Tim » Mon Jun 02, 2014 8:45 am

Oops sorry, wasn't sure if it should go here or not.

Another thing, the Folder select dialog doesn't look like the standard windows one.
Did you create your own? and why?

The reason I ask is because it behaves differently to what I expect, for example:

Type some text in Notepad and do File > Save.
The dialog box shows a view filtered by Text Documents (*.txt). If type in blahblah and save it will automatically be saved as blahblah.txt
This same process should apply when creating new devices (*.swdsk). Hope that makes sense.

Tim
Tim
 
Posts: 92
Joined: Mon Jul 18, 2005 7:27 pm

Re: UI Bugs

Postby anton (staff) » Mon Jun 02, 2014 8:57 am

Guess because Management Console and actual "Finder" service work on a different machines.

Tim wrote:Oops sorry, wasn't sure if it should go here or not.

Another thing, the Folder select dialog doesn't look like the standard windows one.
Did you create your own? and why?

Tim
Regards,
Anton Kolomyeytsev

Chief Technology Officer & Chief Architect, StarWind Software

Image
User avatar
anton (staff)
Site Admin
 
Posts: 3920
Joined: Fri Jun 18, 2004 12:03 am
Location: British Virgin Islands

Re: UI Bugs

Postby Tim » Mon Jun 02, 2014 8:58 am

I was to slow, please read my update, thanks.
Tim
 
Posts: 92
Joined: Mon Jul 18, 2005 7:27 pm

Re: UI Bugs

Postby anton (staff) » Mon Jun 02, 2014 9:25 am

OK, we'll check it out...

Tim wrote:I was to slow, please read my update, thanks.
Regards,
Anton Kolomyeytsev

Chief Technology Officer & Chief Architect, StarWind Software

Image
User avatar
anton (staff)
Site Admin
 
Posts: 3920
Joined: Fri Jun 18, 2004 12:03 am
Location: British Virgin Islands

Re: UI Bugs

Postby Alex (staff) » Mon Jun 02, 2014 10:41 am

The minimize/maximize buttons on the Starwind Management Console do not work.


It's strange, is it in main window? Does this bug appears always or in some specific cases?
Could you please send us a screenshot of the desktop with window?

Type some text in Notepad and do File > Save.
The dialog box shows a view filtered by Text Documents (*.txt). If type in blahblah and save it will automatically be saved as blahblah.txt
his same process should apply when creating new devices (*.swdsk). Hope that makes sense.


Could you please be more specific, what works not as expected in StarWind save dialog?
I press "browse" button near the file path field, type "blahblah" file name, the Open, got "My Computer\C\blahblah.swdsk" file name.
Best regards,
Alexey.
User avatar
Alex (staff)
Staff
 
Posts: 177
Joined: Sat Jun 26, 2004 8:49 am

Re: UI Bugs

Postby Tim » Mon Jun 02, 2014 10:52 am

OK, buttons with red arrows do nothing.
Image

It's strange, is it in main window? Does this bug appears always or in some specific cases?
Could you please send us a screenshot of the desktop with window?


Yup you are correct. Sorry, I obviously not had enough coffee yet today ;)

EDIT : Can't upload attachment? damn

EDIT 2: Ok I shutdown the console completely and restarted, all the buttons are working fine now, very odd.

EDIT 3: Found out what's going on! If I connect to the server via Remote Desktop Connection from another PC, then the min/max/close buttons stop working.
Tim
 
Posts: 92
Joined: Mon Jul 18, 2005 7:27 pm

Re: UI Bugs

Postby anton (staff) » Mon Jun 02, 2014 8:21 pm

Does it happen to StarWind Management Console only or to all the apps you use?

Tim wrote:[ ... ] Found out what's going on! If I connect to the server via Remote Desktop Connection from another PC, then the min/max/close buttons stop working.
Regards,
Anton Kolomyeytsev

Chief Technology Officer & Chief Architect, StarWind Software

Image
User avatar
anton (staff)
Site Admin
 
Posts: 3920
Joined: Fri Jun 18, 2004 12:03 am
Location: British Virgin Islands

Re: UI Bugs

Postby Tim » Mon Jun 02, 2014 9:57 pm

I tested other programs and found no issues. Specifically: Computer Management Console, Hyper-V Console and the controls on a virtual machine I have running.
It's just the Starwind Console that has the issue.
Tim
 
Posts: 92
Joined: Mon Jul 18, 2005 7:27 pm

Re: UI Bugs

Postby anton (staff) » Tue Jun 03, 2014 10:13 am

We'll have a look some time soon. I don't think it's StarWind issue however...

Tim wrote:I tested other programs and found no issues. Specifically: Computer Management Console, Hyper-V Console and the controls on a virtual machine I have running.
It's just the Starwind Console that has the issue.
Regards,
Anton Kolomyeytsev

Chief Technology Officer & Chief Architect, StarWind Software

Image
User avatar
anton (staff)
Site Admin
 
Posts: 3920
Joined: Fri Jun 18, 2004 12:03 am
Location: British Virgin Islands

Re: UI Bugs

Postby Alex (staff) » Tue Jun 03, 2014 11:00 am

Tim,
The chain is as follows:
Client OS - RDP Client - Remote Server OS with StarWind Console,
is it right?

What are versions of Client OS and Server OS?
Is it standard "Remote desktop connection" client from Windows?
We'll try to reproduce the issue.
Best regards,
Alexey.
User avatar
Alex (staff)
Staff
 
Posts: 177
Joined: Sat Jun 26, 2004 8:49 am

Re: UI Bugs

Postby Tim » Tue Jun 03, 2014 2:23 pm

Server OS is Windows Server 2012 r2u1 Standard, Client OS is Windows 8.1u1 Enterprise.
Using the standard built in remote desktop capability.

How I tested:

1) Reboot server to ensure there is a fresh start.
2) On server, mess with min/max/close buttons, they all work as expected
3) On client machine, start Remote Desktop Connection to server. Mess with min/max/close buttons, all working.
4) Use Min or Close to leave console as a try icon then disconnected remote session.
5) Go back to server, click tray icon the bring back main GUI, min/max/close buttons do not work.
6) Do File > Exit and restart, buttons work again.
Tim
 
Posts: 92
Joined: Mon Jul 18, 2005 7:27 pm

Re: UI Bugs

Postby Alex (staff) » Tue Jun 03, 2014 2:31 pm

Thank you for the information!
Best regards,
Alexey.
User avatar
Alex (staff)
Staff
 
Posts: 177
Joined: Sat Jun 26, 2004 8:49 am

Re: UI Bugs

Postby Tim » Mon Jun 09, 2014 7:32 am

Did you manage to reproduce this?
Tim
 
Posts: 92
Joined: Mon Jul 18, 2005 7:27 pm

Next

Return to StarWind Virtual SAN / StarWind Virtual SAN Free / StarWind HyperConverged Appliance / StarWind Storage Appliance

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests