StarWind Service / Remote Sharing

Software-based VM-centric and flash-friendly VM storage + free version

Moderators: anton (staff), art (staff), Max (staff), Anatoly (staff)

randomperson

Fri Dec 09, 2011 3:07 am

This is probably a little off topic but any help would be very much appreciated as I try to resolve an ongoing situation. I really hate playing detective but, I have no choice if I want to protect my efforts and I will appreciate any help!

I am a hobbyist software developer and I've come to find out that one of my customers has been using StarWind and I suspect it might be to circumvent my anti-piracy protection. I am not sure how likely this is but with speaking to the person, they've become aggressive when asked so I thought I would come to the next best place to find expert opinions from users and StarWind developers themselves.

In light of that, I want to learn more about how StarWind works and how likely it is this individual could compromise a pretty straight-forward Internet-based validation system, where my software would do a simple HTTP request and check against hardware with a remote server at the start of each execution.

This person I feel is playing dumb as well so, I'm also curious about (1) the level of technicality this might require as well in using this product, seeing as this package is quite expensive. I would also like to know (2) if there is a way of determining beyond doubt that this is in fact taking place, possibly to allow for multiple user access of my product and if you know of anything I can check for, I would certainly appreciate this more than you know.

Running process : StarWindServiceAE.exe
Ports in use : (3260 / 3261)

0.0.0.0:3260:StarWindServiceAE:2992
0.0.0.0:3261:StarWindServiceAE:2992

Thanks in advance for any help, it would mean a lot.
anton (staff)
Site Admin

Fri Dec 09, 2011 4:03 pm