Multipath -ll no results

Software-based VM-centric and flash-friendly VM storage + free version

Moderators: anton (staff), art (staff), Max (staff), Anatoly (staff)

Post Reply
coffeeboy
Posts: 3
Joined: Wed May 08, 2024 2:16 pm

Wed May 08, 2024 4:31 pm

Hello,

I'm attempting to set up a small trial of the vSAN software in a 2 node Proxmox environment. I've followed the guide (https://www.starwindsoftware.com/resour ... ng-web-ui/) but I'm stuck at the last few steps.

Action 13 says the following:

Create LVM PV on multipathing device:

Code: Select all

 pve# pvcreate /dev/mapper/mpatha
where mpatha – alias for StarWind LUN

However, when I run step 11 (multipath -ll) I get no results. Up to this point everything seemed to go as the document described.

Code: Select all

root@pve:~# multipath -ll
root@pve:~#
I've rebooted the host but the same occurs.

Interestingly, I can connect to the LUN from my Windows PC so it really seems like a Proxmox issue.
coffeeboy
Posts: 3
Joined: Wed May 08, 2024 2:16 pm

Thu May 09, 2024 10:00 am

OK so a bit more digging lead me to this command:

Code: Select all

multipath -v3
which showed the following devices on PVE1

Code: Select all

===== paths list =====
253d100e593e1934d                      6:0:0:0    sdb     8:16  -1  undef undef  STARWIND,STARWIND
       unknown
On PVE2 however, it was slightly different:

Code: Select all

===== paths list =====
253d100e593e1934d                         6:0:0:0    sdb     8:16  -1  undef undef  STARWIND,STARWIND
          unknown
253d100e593e1934d                         7:0:0:0    sdc     8:32  50  undef undef  STARWIND,STARWIND
          unknown
I've had to heavily edit the output as the anti-spam kept blocking it.

Not sure why the second node shows 2 iSCSI devices. Any way, I added the correct WWID to the Multipath config on both nodes it seems I added the wrong WWIDs previously. Now I have been able to complete the config.
yaroslav (staff)
Staff
Posts: 2469
Joined: Mon Nov 18, 2019 11:11 am

Thu May 09, 2024 11:43 am

Thanks for your update and for sharing your experience. Glad to read you sorted it out. Can I help you with anything else?
coffeeboy
Posts: 3
Joined: Wed May 08, 2024 2:16 pm

Mon May 20, 2024 9:11 am

Why do you think that one node has two paths, but the other has only one?
yaroslav (staff)
Staff
Posts: 2469
Joined: Mon Nov 18, 2019 11:11 am

Mon May 20, 2024 9:27 am

Can you please share the answer for the follsing?
  • Can I please have the screenshot that showcases the full target name?
  • Are HA devices replicated?
  • How many links do you connect the storage with?
Post Reply