StarWind iSCSI SAN
StarWind Native SAN for Hyper-V
 

Invalid Partner on 2-node HA - Win Server Core 2019

Software-based VM-centric and flash-friendly VM storage + free version, StarWind VSAN "Ready Nodes"

Moderators: anton (staff), art (staff), Anatoly (staff), Max (staff)

Invalid Partner on 2-node HA - Win Server Core 2019

Postby james643 » Wed Apr 07, 2021 2:37 pm

I am attempting to set up a POC of HA 2 node Hyper-V cluster on Server Core 2019 using "CreateHA_2.PS1" but am getting this error. I'm not clear on what to do with some of the addresses in the script.
(edit: I followed this to stage the servers -- https://www.starwindsoftware.com/resour ... rver-2016/)

Code: Select all
Request to  CL1.DOMAIN.LOCAL ( 192.168.1.111 ) : 3261
-
control HAImage -CreateHeader:"" -DeviceHeaderPath:"My computer\D\starwind\CL1-img_HA.swdsk" -Type:"ImageFile_HA" -file:"CL1-Storage" -size:"1024" -Priority:"#p0=0;#p1=1" -nodeType:"#p0=1;#p1=1" -PartnerTargetName:"#p1=iqn.2008-08.com.starwindsoftware:cl2.DOMAIN.local-san-cl2" -PartnerIP:"#p1=172.16.20.12:sync:3260:1,172.16.10.12:1" -IsAutoSynchEnabled:"1" -AuthChapLogin:"#p1=0b" -AuthChapPassword:"#p1=0b" -AuthMChapName:"#p1=0b" -AuthMChapSecret:"#p1=0b" -AuthChapType:"#p1=none" -Offset:"0" -CacheMode:"wb" -CacheSizeMB:"128" -Replicator:"#p0=0" -WitnessType:"0" -AluaAccessState:"#p0=0;#p1=1"
-
200 Failed: invalid partner info..


Here is my network layout. NIC1 are on the local network where I manage the hosts. NIC5 is iSCSI+HB and are connected by isolated 10Gbit switch. NIC6 for SYNCH are 10Gbit direct connection. NICs in each pair successfully jumbo ping each other.

Code: Select all
NIC1-Host1-Mgmt                                 NIC1-Host2-Mgmt
192.168.1.111        >     1Gb Switch     >     192.168.1.121

NIC5-Host1-iSCSI+HB                             NIC5-Host2-iSCSI+HB
172.16.10.11        >     10Gb Switch     >     172.16.10.12

NIC6-Host1-SYNCH                                NIC6-Host2-SYNCH
172.16.20.11        >     10Gb Direct     >     172.16.20.12

(Both hosts: NIC2 & 3 are dedicated HV switches, NIC4 disabled)


Here are my script parameters:

Code: Select all
param($addr="192.168.1.111", $port=3261, $user="root", $password="starwind",
   $addr2="192.168.1.121", $port2=$port, $user2=$user, $password2=$password,
#common
   $initMethod="Clear",
   $size=1024,
   $sectorSize=4096,
   $failover=0,
#primary node
   $imagePath="My computer\D\starwind",
   $imageName="CL1-img",
   $createImage=$true,
   $storageName="CL1-Storage",
   $targetAlias="SAN-CL1",
   $autoSynch=$true,
   $poolName="pool1",
   $syncSessionCount=1,
   $aluaOptimized=$true,
   $cacheMode="wb",
   $cacheSize=128,
   $syncInterface="#p2=172.16.20.12:3260" -f $addr2,
   $hbInterface="#p2=172.16.10.12",
   $createTarget=$true,
#secondary node
   $imagePath2="My computer\D\starwind",
   $imageName2="CL2-img",
   $createImage2=$true,
   $storageName2="CL2-Storage",
   $targetAlias2="SAN-CL2",
   $autoSynch2=$true,
   $poolName2="pool1",
   $syncSessionCount2=1,
   $aluaOptimized2=$false,
   $cacheMode2=$cacheMode,
   $cacheSize2=$cacheSize,
   $syncInterface2="#p1=172.16.20.11:3260" -f $addr,
   $hbInterface2="#p1=172.16.10.11",
   $createTarget2=$true
   )
james643
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Wed Apr 07, 2021 1:57 pm

Re: Invalid Partner on 2-node HA - Win Server Core 2019

Postby yaroslav (staff) » Wed Apr 07, 2021 3:02 pm

Welcome to StarWind Forum. How many physical network cards do you use? Please make sure to use at least 2 different network cards to avoid split-brain. See more in system requirements https://www.starwindsoftware.com/system-requirements.
See the good script here viewtopic.php?f=5&t=5624&p=31505&hilit=tip+3#p31505.
yaroslav (staff)
Staff
 
Posts: 759
Joined: Mon Nov 18, 2019 11:11 am

Re: Invalid Partner on 2-node HA - Win Server Core 2019

Postby james643 » Wed Apr 07, 2021 3:41 pm

Each server has a builtin physical adapter with 4x 1Gbit ports. NIC1 on both hosts are port 1 of this and this is the management network.
Each server has an add-on physical adapter with 2x 10Gbit ports, NIC5 iSCSI+HB and NIC6 Synch are ports 1 and 2 respectively on this.

Would you please clarify here - are you saying I need to add a second add-on card to each server? As it is now there are 3 separate networks on separate ethernet ports for iSCI+HB (and added mgmt network as backup heartbeat I think in params below) and for Synchronization and for system management.

From the post you linked to, these are my new parameters and it appears to have worked and synchronized.

Code: Select all
param($addr="192.168.1.111", $port=3261, $user="root", $password="starwind",
   $addr2="192.168.1.121", $port2=$port, $user2=$user, $password2=$password,
#common
   $initMethod="Clear",
   $size=1200,
   $sectorSize=4096,
   $failover=0,
#primary node
   $imagePath="My computer\D\starwind",
   $imageName="masterImg21",
   $createImage=$true,
   $storageName="",
   $targetAlias="targetha21",
   $autoSynch=$true,
   $poolName="pool1",
   $syncSessionCount=1,
   $aluaOptimized=$true,
   $cacheMode="wb",
   $cacheSize=128,
   $syncInterface="#p2=172.16.20.12:3260" -f $addr2,
   $hbInterface="#p2=172.16.10.12:3260,192.168.1.121:3260" -f $addr2,
   $createTarget=$true,
#secondary node
   $imagePath2="My computer\D\starwind",
   $imageName2="partnerImg22",
   $createImage2=$true,
   $storageName2="",
   $targetAlias2="partnerha22",
   $autoSynch2=$true,
   $poolName2="pool1",
   $syncSessionCount2=1,
   $aluaOptimized2=$true,
   $cacheMode2=$cacheMode,
   $cacheSize2=$cacheSize,
   $syncInterface2="#p1=172.16.20.11:3260" -f $addr,
   $hbInterface2="#p1=172.16.10.11:3260,192.168.1.111:3260" -f $addr,
   $createTarget2=$true
   )
james643
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Wed Apr 07, 2021 1:57 pm

Re: Invalid Partner on 2-node HA - Win Server Core 2019

Postby james643 » Wed Apr 07, 2021 8:27 pm

I mean that I put the management network in as a second heartbeat now. So since that is on the built in NIC, rather from the add-on NIC which has both iSCSI+HB and Sync, I am in now configured to avoid split-brain with just the two adapters, correct?
james643
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Wed Apr 07, 2021 1:57 pm

Re: Invalid Partner on 2-node HA - Win Server Core 2019

Postby yaroslav (staff) » Thu Apr 08, 2021 7:13 am

Hi, yes you are right. I was saying that at least one StarWind Link should go over another network card, be it the heartbeat or sync.
In your case, adding heartbeat over the management should almost eliminate the risk of split brains. And, that is what you did with the script.
yaroslav (staff)
Staff
 
Posts: 759
Joined: Mon Nov 18, 2019 11:11 am

Re: Invalid Partner on 2-node HA - Win Server Core 2019

Postby james643 » Thu Apr 08, 2021 6:10 pm

Great info thanks. The network requirements wording in the setup guide makes a lot more sense with that context.

So far I have:
Created devices with Create_HA2.ps1
Connected the iSCSI links on both ends
Validated and created the Failover Cluster

Now I am about to extend the storage.

Can you point me to the next steps?
james643
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Wed Apr 07, 2021 1:57 pm

Re: Invalid Partner on 2-node HA - Win Server Core 2019

Postby yaroslav (staff) » Fri Apr 09, 2021 8:22 am

Make sure to connect the witness disk only locally.
You can extend the device with the ExtendDevice script from C:\Program Files\StarWind Software\StarWind\StarWindX\Samples\powershell.
yaroslav (staff)
Staff
 
Posts: 759
Joined: Mon Nov 18, 2019 11:11 am


Return to StarWind Virtual SAN (VSAN) & VSAN Free, StarWind HyperConverged Appliance (HCA) & Storage Appliance (SA) and StarWind Free NAS & SAN

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot] and 3 guests