StarWind iSCSI SAN
StarWind Native SAN for Hyper-V
 

AoE and Windows volume resizing.

Initiator (iSCSI, FCoE, AoE, iSER and NVMe over Fabrics)

Moderators: art (staff), anton (staff), Anatoly (staff), Max (staff)

AoE and Windows volume resizing.

Postby Yacine » Tue May 09, 2006 1:18 pm

Hi,

Anyone have tool recommendation for resizing Windows AoE volumes?

Use case: Today I have 1TB mounted on a Win box (AoE), tomorrow I'll add some disks and would like to extend the mounted FS (without any down time).

Would appreciate any infos on :
- FS (other than NTFS)
- Tools (partition magic...)
- .../...

This is for a production platform, failure/down time are not possible.

BTW what is the situation exaclty for volume > 2TB (StarPort v3, Windows requirements...)?

Thank you,
Yacine
Yacine
 
Posts: 21
Joined: Tue May 09, 2006 1:09 pm

Re: AoE and Windows volume resizing.

Postby Val (staff) » Wed May 10, 2006 12:56 pm

Yacine wrote:Anyone have tool recommendation for resizing Windows AoE volumes?

Use case: Today I have 1TB mounted on a Win box (AoE), tomorrow I'll add some disks and would like to extend the mounted FS (without any down time).

Would appreciate any infos on :
- FS (other than NTFS)
- Tools (partition magic...)
- .../...

This is for a production platform, failure/down time are not possible.

BTW what is the situation exaclty for volume > 2TB (StarPort v3, Windows requirements...)?

Hi Yacine,

Our StarPort driver knows nothing about internals of AoE devices it mounts.
I'd suggest you to contact Coraid's support ([email protected]) for more details about their volume management interface.

StarPort v3.0 supports large disks (>2TB), but you need Windows 2003 SP1 to be able to use such drives.
For older Windows versions you could split your large AoE device into several logical drives under 2TB each.
Best regards,
Valeriy
Val (staff)
 
Posts: 499
Joined: Tue Jun 29, 2004 8:38 pm


Return to StarPort

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 8 guests