StarWind iSCSI SAN
StarWind Native SAN for Hyper-V
 

Adding AOE Devices under Windows 2k3

Initiator (iSCSI, FCoE, AoE, iSER and NVMe over Fabrics)

Moderators: art (staff), anton (staff), Anatoly (staff), Max (staff)

Adding AOE Devices under Windows 2k3

Postby jesternzl » Mon Feb 06, 2006 9:33 pm

We have a number of Linux AOE servers serving out AOE blades.
I have installed the starport driver, but can't see any way to mount these AOE devices in windows. 'New Device' wizard only talks about iscsi devices.
Can anyone help...
jesternzl
 
Posts: 6
Joined: Mon Feb 06, 2006 9:29 pm
Location: New Zealand

Re: Adding AOE Devices under Windows 2k3

Postby anton (staff) » Mon Feb 06, 2006 10:26 pm

AoE support is not released for public yet. You need to drop us a message to [email protected] so we could give you download link to AoE enabled version of StarPort.

jesternzl wrote:We have a number of Linux AOE servers serving out AOE blades.
I have installed the starport driver, but can't see any way to mount these AOE devices in windows. 'New Device' wizard only talks about iscsi devices.
Can anyone help...
Regards,
Anton Kolomyeytsev

Chief Technology Officer & Chief Architect, StarWind Software

Image
User avatar
anton (staff)
Site Admin
 
Posts: 3922
Joined: Fri Jun 18, 2004 12:03 am
Location: British Virgin Islands

Postby jesternzl » Wed Feb 08, 2006 2:05 am

Have installed the new AOE enabled software. Under the add device wizard I can see the AOE devices. But when the wizard tries to mount a device we get the rerro 'Driver Failuer" Any suggestions..
jesternzl
 
Posts: 6
Joined: Mon Feb 06, 2006 9:29 pm
Location: New Zealand

Postby jesternzl » Wed Feb 08, 2006 2:06 am

Meant to say we get an error 'Driver Failure'
jesternzl
 
Posts: 6
Joined: Mon Feb 06, 2006 9:29 pm
Location: New Zealand

Driver uses 100% CPU

Postby jesternzl » Wed Feb 08, 2006 4:01 am

Also, have now found that after installing the driver the system process now runs at 100% cpu.
jesternzl
 
Posts: 6
Joined: Mon Feb 06, 2006 9:29 pm
Location: New Zealand

Re: Driver uses 100% CPU

Postby Val (staff) » Wed Feb 08, 2006 8:26 am

jesternzl wrote:Also, have now found that after installing the driver the system process now runs at 100% cpu.

Hi,

Please give us more details about your machine's configuration (OS, hardware).
Are there any firewalls or third party storage drivers?
Best regards,
Valeriy
Val (staff)
 
Posts: 499
Joined: Tue Jun 29, 2004 8:38 pm

Postby jesternzl » Wed Feb 08, 2006 10:33 am

OS - Win 2k3 Server Standard with SP1.
HW - IBM Netfinity 8307 Model - 1Gb Ram, 2.4 Ghz P4
No firewall between server & AOE (layer 2 don't forget)
AOE Server is a Debian Linux 2.6.12 build

Let me know what else you need.
jesternzl
 
Posts: 6
Joined: Mon Feb 06, 2006 9:29 pm
Location: New Zealand

Postby Val (staff) » Wed Feb 08, 2006 10:58 am

jesternzl wrote:OS - Win 2k3 Server Standard with SP1.
HW - IBM Netfinity 8307 Model - 1Gb Ram, 2.4 Ghz P4
No firewall between server & AOE (layer 2 don't forget)
AOE Server is a Debian Linux 2.6.12 build

Let me know what else you need.

Please check it out whether the configuration string reported by the AoE device is the same as the one set in the mount AoE device dialog.
Also it's possible to use 'Force' flag to overwrite the device's current
configuration string to successfully claim it.

Could you provide an Ethereal log for network exchange on a mount attempt?

Thank you.
Last edited by Val (staff) on Fri Sep 21, 2007 1:09 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Best regards,
Valeriy
Val (staff)
 
Posts: 499
Joined: Tue Jun 29, 2004 8:38 pm

Works a treat...

Postby jesternzl » Tue Mar 14, 2006 8:51 am

Just to let any users know, have been testing the starport aoe driver under windows 2003 with both stand alone and virtual server with no problems. Can't wait for final release version
Just make sure your aoe server uses the v10 blade under linux.
jesternzl
 
Posts: 6
Joined: Mon Feb 06, 2006 9:29 pm
Location: New Zealand

Re: Works a treat...

Postby anton (staff) » Tue Mar 14, 2006 1:03 pm

We're expecting to have one (StarPort release) from day to day... Keep in touch! :)

jesternzl wrote:Just to let any users know, have been testing the starport aoe driver under windows 2003 with both stand alone and virtual server with no problems. Can't wait for final release version
Just make sure your aoe server uses the v10 blade under linux.
Regards,
Anton Kolomyeytsev

Chief Technology Officer & Chief Architect, StarWind Software

Image
User avatar
anton (staff)
Site Admin
 
Posts: 3922
Joined: Fri Jun 18, 2004 12:03 am
Location: British Virgin Islands


Return to StarPort

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest