NVMeOF My hostnqn

Initiator (iSCSI, FCoE, AoE, iSER and NVMe over Fabrics), iSCSI accelerator and RAM disk

Moderators: anton (staff), art (staff), Max (staff), Anatoly (staff)

Post Reply
dmaman
Posts: 1
Joined: Wed Dec 25, 2019 1:21 pm

Wed Dec 25, 2019 1:23 pm

Hi,

Where can see my hostnqn once I installed the driver for windows 2016

Dave
yaroslav (staff)
Staff
Posts: 2341
Joined: Mon Nov 18, 2019 11:11 am

Thu Dec 26, 2019 2:50 pm

Here is the guide on configuring StarWind NVMe-oF target and initiator: https://www.starwindsoftware.com/resour ... g-nvme-of/.
NQN should be like: nqn.2008-08.com.starwindsoftware.
dbsheehy
Posts: 1
Joined: Tue Aug 02, 2022 8:22 pm

Tue Aug 02, 2022 10:24 pm

I looked at the guide you provided a link to and I don't see anywhere in the document how to find out what the HostNQN is for the StarWind Initiator. None of the commands in your CLI for the StarWind NVMe-oF Initiator appear to provide that information. I need the HostNQN of the Windows Host in order to add it to the allowed_host list in my NVMeoF target configuration.
yaroslav (staff)
Staff
Posts: 2341
Joined: Mon Nov 18, 2019 11:11 am

Wed Aug 03, 2022 7:52 pm

Greetings,

1. Acquire the list of available controllers

Code: Select all

StarNVMeoF_Ctrl.exe discovery <target_ip_addr> <local_ip_addr>
2. Connect

Code: Select all

StarNVMeoF_Ctrl.exe insert <target_ip_addr[:port]> <local_ip_addr> <SubNQN> <HostNQN>
HostNQN can be a custom identifier you chose.
3. Confirm connection

Code: Select all

StarNVMeoF_Ctrl.exe list 
Xavier
Posts: 8
Joined: Thu Aug 31, 2023 4:24 pm

Fri Sep 01, 2023 2:25 pm

reco on my side <HostNQN> is like nqn.2008-08.com.starwindsoftware.hostnameofserver
yaroslav (staff)
Staff
Posts: 2341
Joined: Mon Nov 18, 2019 11:11 am

Fri Sep 01, 2023 7:32 pm

You can check it in iSCSI Initiator.
PoehlmannU
Posts: 1
Joined: Fri Feb 09, 2024 1:29 pm

Fri Feb 09, 2024 1:37 pm

I do not see my HostNQN as well. (Is not iSCSI, as well your example is not working)
Is there no way to just show it (registry?), the discovery is working for targets, but where is my HostNQN?? Please... ;-)
yaroslav (staff)
Staff
Posts: 2341
Joined: Mon Nov 18, 2019 11:11 am

Fri Feb 09, 2024 2:48 pm

Welcome to StarWind Forum.
Host NQN is an optional parameter and needed only if there is any authentication set up on target level.
Post Reply