StarWind iSCSI SAN
StarWind Native SAN for Hyper-V
 

Connecting to Starwind from Starport

Initiator (iSCSI, FCoE, AoE, iSER and NVMe over Fabrics)

Moderators: art (staff), anton (staff), Anatoly (staff), Max (staff)

Connecting to Starwind from Starport

Postby ashwin » Tue Oct 04, 2005 7:33 pm

Starwind version used : 2.6.3
Starport version : 2.6.4

I have got few targets in my starwind and I am using Microsoft ISCSI initiator to connect to those targets from my machines. But for one target which I am not using , I am trying to connect from Starport .

I installed Starport. I right-click the starport from system tray and go to "Start Management". I then "right-click" remote iscsi devices and click on "Add device". I click "next" and then "Remote iscsi devices" and give the IP address and port used.

When I click "next" at this point , it says Network cannot be reached.

When I choose "Configure IP security" and click on "next" , it is asking for a Preshared key.. There is no Preshared key setup in Starwinds.

If I put a preshared key in starwind , will it disconnect the connections that ISCSI initiator is connected to ?

How should I connect to the targets using starport?

Thanks
ashwin
 
Posts: 13
Joined: Fri Jul 08, 2005 2:30 pm

Postby Val (staff) » Wed Oct 05, 2005 8:29 pm

Hi Ashwin,

Is the target accessible from MS initiator?

Do you use IPsec in the network?
A StarWind installation includes a separate IPSec control tool.

You need to use IPSec on both initiator or client, or don't use it at all, otherwise they will not see each other.

IIRC existing IP connections are broken if you start or stop IPSec on the adapter. This could be proved by a sinmple test.
Best regards,
Valeriy
Val (staff)
 
Posts: 499
Joined: Tue Jun 29, 2004 8:38 pm

Postby ashwin » Thu Oct 06, 2005 3:17 pm

Valery,

This is my goal.
In Starwind , I have 4 targets
a
b
c
d

At the moment , I am able to access all the 4 targets from 4 different machines using ISCSI initiator. What I plan to do is to access these targets through these clients

a - MS ISCSI initiator
b - MS ISCSI initiator
c - Starport
d - Starport

Here is the reason why I want to change from ISCSI to Starport. Machines c and d are windows 2000 servers. When the internet gets disconnected for some reason in these locations which has 2000 server , the ISCSI initiator is NOT able to reconnect automatically whereas machines a and b are able to because they run 2003 server.

I would assume using Starport would solve the issue in c and d..

Now , should I configure anything specific in Starwind to make it use with Starport ?

Thanks
ashwin
 
Posts: 13
Joined: Fri Jul 08, 2005 2:30 pm

Postby Val (staff) » Thu Oct 06, 2005 8:46 pm

Ashwin,

Is this the same issue with the MS initiator using different ISID values on reconnect to a persistent target?
Do you use the same versions of the initiator on 2003 and 2000 servers?
It's strange that they behave in different manner...

I've tried to talk with MS iSCSI initiator guys about the issue with ISIDs in microsoft.public.storage group. But with no success. :(

I suspect StarPort is unable to solve the problem (at least the recent version). The problem is StarPort automounts targets only on login of a user. While the MS initiator uses the msiscsi service to mount targets early, ever without a user logged in. This is the issue for servers...
Best regards,
Valeriy
Val (staff)
 
Posts: 499
Joined: Tue Jun 29, 2004 8:38 pm


Return to StarPort

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests