StarWind iSCSI SAN
StarWind Native SAN for Hyper-V
 

Need to determine the WWN for FCoE Initiator

Initiator (iSCSI, FCoE, AoE, iSER and NVMe over Fabrics)

Moderators: art (staff), anton (staff), Anatoly (staff), Max (staff)

Need to determine the WWN for FCoE Initiator

Postby sforgosh » Mon Nov 12, 2012 4:34 pm

I want to connect a LUN directly to my W2K8 VM. I installed the FCoE software initiator but how do I zone a LUN to it if I can't determine the WWN?
sforgosh
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Mon Nov 12, 2012 4:29 pm

Re: Need to determine the WWN for FCoE Initiator

Postby Anatoly (staff) » Tue Nov 13, 2012 10:00 am

Hello sforgosh,

Would you be so kind to provide more details about your plan and what is your issue exactly?

after we will receive all the required information we will be able to provide you with assistance.

Thank you
Best regards,
Anatoly Vilchinsky
Global Engineering and Support Manager
www.starwind.com
[email protected]
User avatar
Anatoly (staff)
Staff
 
Posts: 1675
Joined: Tue Mar 01, 2011 8:28 am

Re: Need to determine the WWN for FCoE Initiator

Postby Aeschulus » Tue Apr 16, 2013 6:28 am

I'm in the same boat - the FCoE target requires that we put in the WWN of the initiator - i.e. it's looking for a specific host, not just any host connecting to it.
Aeschulus
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Tue Apr 16, 2013 6:26 am

Re: Need to determine the WWN for FCoE Initiator

Postby anton (staff) » Tue Apr 16, 2013 10:51 am

What FCoE target are you using?

Aeschulus wrote:I'm in the same boat - the FCoE target requires that we put in the WWN of the initiator - i.e. it's looking for a specific host, not just any host connecting to it.
Regards,
Anton Kolomyeytsev

Chief Technology Officer & Chief Architect, StarWind Software

Image
User avatar
anton (staff)
Site Admin
 
Posts: 3920
Joined: Fri Jun 18, 2004 12:03 am
Location: British Virgin Islands

Re: Need to determine the WWN for FCoE Initiator

Postby Aeschulus » Wed Apr 17, 2013 12:08 am

Aeschulus
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Tue Apr 16, 2013 6:26 am

Re: Need to determine the WWN for FCoE Initiator

Postby Anatoly (staff) » Mon Apr 22, 2013 8:02 am

Hello

The WWN should be 28 00 XX XX XX XX XX XX, where XX is our source MAC or 10 00 XX XX XX XX XX XX, where XX is our source MAC.

I hope it helped.
Best regards,
Anatoly Vilchinsky
Global Engineering and Support Manager
www.starwind.com
[email protected]
User avatar
Anatoly (staff)
Staff
 
Posts: 1675
Joined: Tue Mar 01, 2011 8:28 am

Re: Need to determine the WWN for FCoE Initiator

Postby Aeschulus » Tue Apr 23, 2013 1:10 am

I'll try that in a few days and let you know - thanks!
Aeschulus
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Tue Apr 16, 2013 6:26 am

Re: Need to determine the WWN for FCoE Initiator

Postby Anatoly (staff) » Thu Apr 25, 2013 12:53 pm

Do you have any update for us please?
Best regards,
Anatoly Vilchinsky
Global Engineering and Support Manager
www.starwind.com
[email protected]
User avatar
Anatoly (staff)
Staff
 
Posts: 1675
Joined: Tue Mar 01, 2011 8:28 am


Return to StarPort

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests