VEEAM AND TAPE WORM

StarWind VTL, VTL Free, VTL Appliance

Moderators: anton (staff), art (staff), Max (staff), Anatoly (staff)

Post Reply
Rotolo
Posts: 2
Joined: Mon Apr 06, 2020 8:10 am

Mon Apr 06, 2020 8:32 am

Hello,
im new to tapes and Starwind.
I need to create tapes to test WORM on Starwind, but i cant manage it.
Veeam get them as WORM false.
In attachment screens.

Thank you very much for any support and have a nice day.
Attachments
VEEAM.JPG
VEEAM.JPG (29.09 KiB) Viewed 6247 times
TAPE.JPG
TAPE.JPG (26.75 KiB) Viewed 6247 times
yaroslav (staff)
Staff
Posts: 2340
Joined: Mon Nov 18, 2019 11:11 am

Mon Apr 06, 2020 12:43 pm

Hi,

That is a good question.
The thing is that StarWind VTL by its design (i.e., tape libraries) are WORM-false. That is why Veeam B&R says them to be virtual tapes to be WORM-false.
With StarWind Cloud Replicator (i.e., with replication configured to the cloud), they become write-once-read-many.
Rotolo
Posts: 2
Joined: Mon Apr 06, 2020 8:10 am

Mon Apr 06, 2020 4:08 pm

Hello,

Thank you for reply.
yaroslav (staff)
Staff
Posts: 2340
Joined: Mon Nov 18, 2019 11:11 am

Tue Apr 07, 2020 7:20 am

Yes, it is achieved by object locking.
You are always welcome.
Post Reply