StarWind iSCSI SAN
StarWind Native SAN for Hyper-V
 

Information about StarWind RAM Disk SDK

Public beta (bugs, reports, suggestions, features and requests)

Moderators: art (staff), anton (staff), Anatoly (staff), Max (staff)

Information about StarWind RAM Disk SDK

Postby Simone » Tue Sep 18, 2018 10:41 am

Good morning,
I've tried StarWind RAM Disk, but how can I obtain StarWind RAM Disk SDK?
Simone
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Tue Sep 18, 2018 10:35 am

Re: Information about StarWind RAM Disk SDK

Postby Oleg(staff) » Wed Sep 19, 2018 12:04 pm

Hi Simone,
Could you please clarify your question?
Are you asking about purchasing or getting a link for download?
Oleg(staff)
Staff
 
Posts: 564
Joined: Fri Nov 24, 2017 7:52 am

Re: Information about StarWind RAM Disk SDK

Postby Simone » Mon Sep 24, 2018 10:46 am

Hi Oleg,
Of course, I've read this article:

https://knowledgebase.starwindsoftware. ... -disk-sdk/

And I need to use "StarRAMCtl.exe", but I've not find it into StarWind RAM Disk's installation folder, so I wondered if I had to download anything else (a SDK?) or buy additional components.
Simone
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Tue Sep 18, 2018 10:35 am

Re: Information about StarWind RAM Disk SDK

Postby Oleg(staff) » Tue Sep 25, 2018 11:48 am

Hi Simone,
Could you please submit log a support case using this form?
Oleg(staff)
Staff
 
Posts: 564
Joined: Fri Nov 24, 2017 7:52 am

Re: Information about StarWind RAM Disk SDK

Postby Simone » Mon Oct 22, 2018 7:44 am

Thanks, perfect! I could get and use "StarRAMCtl.exe", now I'm wondered if there's a way to set a driver letter when I insert a new RAM disk.
Simone
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Tue Sep 18, 2018 10:35 am

Re: Information about StarWind RAM Disk SDK

Postby Oleg(staff) » Mon Oct 22, 2018 2:03 pm

Hi Simone,

When you are creating RAM disk, you can uncheck the box "Create formatted disk" and assign the letter manually after initializing and formatting. After each restart, you will need to do this steps manually.
If you do not uncheck this box, by default, will be assigned the first available letter in alphabet order except A and B and there is no need to do manual steps after each restart.
One more thing is that after each restart, data which stores in RAM disk will be erased.
Oleg(staff)
Staff
 
Posts: 564
Joined: Fri Nov 24, 2017 7:52 am


Return to Beta

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests