StarWind iSCSI SAN
StarWind Native SAN for Hyper-V
 

starwind config help ?

Public beta (bugs, reports, suggestions, features and requests)

Moderators: art (staff), anton (staff), Anatoly (staff), Max (staff)

starwind config help ?

Postby fbifido » Wed Nov 13, 2013 4:48 pm

Hi,

I have one target with 3 LUN, and i tried to make it accessible only to my esxi1 server only, but lock myself out.
I tried to disable all other access to the target, but not knowing that the defaul rule was not for the traget but for the management.

but why the management rule is under the target settings?

How can i get back the default access policy ?

this is from the starwind.cfg file

<acltable>
<DefaultAccessPolicy value="allow"/>
<aclrecord name="esxi01" source="192.168.6.2|192.168.7.2" destination="iqn.2008-08.com.starwindsoftware:storage01-dunncox" interface="192.168.6.1|192.168.7.1" action="allow"/>
</acltable>

When i start the management GUI, select connect, the popup message say "(127.0.0.1): 3261 connected", but it halt at this point.
I have to go into taskmgr to kill it.

Now it's telling me i need a lic. I redownload the program & lic file, but that lic file failed to install.
User avatar
fbifido
 
Posts: 125
Joined: Thu Sep 05, 2013 7:33 am

Re: starwind config help ?

Postby fbifido » Wed Nov 13, 2013 5:03 pm

from the ConfigUpdater.log

Cannot open 'StarWind.conf'.Creating new document
Error parsing file 'StarWind.cfg.bak' : Ü"!a: S
Stopping update process
User avatar
fbifido
 
Posts: 125
Joined: Thu Sep 05, 2013 7:33 am

Re: starwind config help ?

Postby fbifido » Wed Nov 13, 2013 5:31 pm

please see log file
Attachments
starwind-20131030-143720_003.zip
starwind-20131030-143720.zip.003
(200 KiB) Downloaded 313 times
starwind-20131030-143720_002.zip
starwind-20131030-143720.zip.002
(200 KiB) Downloaded 315 times
starwind-20131030-143720_001.zip
starwind-20131030-143720.zip.001
(200 KiB) Downloaded 300 times
Last edited by fbifido on Wed Nov 13, 2013 5:47 pm, edited 1 time in total.
User avatar
fbifido
 
Posts: 125
Joined: Thu Sep 05, 2013 7:33 am

Re: starwind config help ?

Postby Bohdan (staff) » Wed Nov 13, 2013 5:46 pm

ACL does not affect the management interface.

Default ACL policy can be changed in StarWind.cfg file
<DefaultAccessPolicy value="allow"/>

It looks like service crash. Do you see minidump files in StarWind directory?
User avatar
Bohdan (staff)
Staff
 
Posts: 437
Joined: Wed May 23, 2007 12:58 pm

Re: starwind config help ?

Postby fbifido » Wed Nov 13, 2013 5:47 pm

.
Attachments
starwind-20131030-143720_004.zip
starwind-20131030-143720.zip.004
(2.4 KiB) Downloaded 290 times
User avatar
fbifido
 
Posts: 125
Joined: Thu Sep 05, 2013 7:33 am

Re: starwind config help ?

Postby fbifido » Wed Nov 13, 2013 5:50 pm

Bohdan (staff) wrote:ACL does not affect the management interface.

Default ACL policy can be changed in StarWind.cfg file
<DefaultAccessPolicy value="allow"/>

It looks like service crash. Do you see minidump files in StarWind directory?


Thanks, what I did was
<aclrecord name="DefaultAccessPolicy" action="allow"/>
and now I have 2 DefaultAccessPolicy in the management GUI.

Yes re: dump file, 2 of them, one 7GB and the other is 1GB
User avatar
fbifido
 
Posts: 125
Joined: Thu Sep 05, 2013 7:33 am

Re: starwind config help ?

Postby turkina » Thu Nov 14, 2013 12:36 am

Bohdan (staff) wrote:ACL does not affect the management interface.

Default ACL policy can be changed in StarWind.cfg file
<DefaultAccessPolicy value="allow"/>

It looks like service crash. Do you see minidump files in StarWind directory?


It did on my box. Added Access rights for my VMware cluster to see one target, my Hyper-V hosts to see another target, then set the default access policy to deny. Could no longer manage Starwind. Once I shut down my VMs and rebooted the server Starwind was running on, the default access policy was back to Allow and all we good again.
turkina
 
Posts: 22
Joined: Thu Dec 27, 2012 3:06 am

Re: starwind config help ?

Postby fbifido » Thu Nov 14, 2013 2:50 pm

Hi,

One of my LUN's is not mounting, and i don't see any tools or option to do a check on the LUN.
I let it run for more than a day.
the other 2 LUN's came up under 3hrs, so why is this taking so long?

http://tinypic.com/r/111v2hf/5 <---- full picture

Image

What can i do ?
User avatar
fbifido
 
Posts: 125
Joined: Thu Sep 05, 2013 7:33 am

Re: starwind config help ?

Postby fbifido » Thu Nov 14, 2013 4:49 pm

Hi,

I just deleted this LUN and re-created it.
I had to stop the iSCSI SAN service to delte the files.
I lose alot of test VM's.

Starwind need a way to repair lsfs file system, so that they can mount very fast.
User avatar
fbifido
 
Posts: 125
Joined: Thu Sep 05, 2013 7:33 am

Re: starwind config help ?

Postby Bohdan (staff) » Thu Nov 14, 2013 4:51 pm

turkina wrote:
Bohdan (staff) wrote:ACL does not affect the management interface.

Default ACL policy can be changed in StarWind.cfg file
<DefaultAccessPolicy value="allow"/>

It looks like service crash. Do you see minidump files in StarWind directory?


It did on my box. Added Access rights for my VMware cluster to see one target, my Hyper-V hosts to see another target, then set the default access policy to deny. Could no longer manage Starwind. Once I shut down my VMs and rebooted the server Starwind was running on, the default access policy was back to Allow and all we good again.


The problem is fixed. I'll update the beta build ASAP.
User avatar
Bohdan (staff)
Staff
 
Posts: 437
Joined: Wed May 23, 2007 12:58 pm

Re: starwind config help ?

Postby fbifido » Tue Nov 19, 2013 6:32 pm

When you update the beta build, let us know.

because all we see is Beta 2, on the download page.
User avatar
fbifido
 
Posts: 125
Joined: Thu Sep 05, 2013 7:33 am

Re: starwind config help ?

Postby Bohdan (staff) » Thu Nov 21, 2013 2:12 pm

Sure.
Thanks for the patience.
User avatar
Bohdan (staff)
Staff
 
Posts: 437
Joined: Wed May 23, 2007 12:58 pm

Re: starwind config help ?

Postby Bohdan (staff) » Fri Nov 22, 2013 7:03 pm

The build has been updated.
http://starwindsoftware.com/tmplink/StarWindBeta.exe
Please check the fix for the ACL issue.
Could you please also check the update process from v6 to v8? All devices types should work properly, but Snapshot&CDP, Mirror and DDdisk devices have restricted management functionality. There may be issues with LSFS in synchronous replica configuration. Single LSFS devices should work properly, as well as LSFS snapshots.
Update from previous beta builds may not work correctly.
Also we are interested in performance results for Synchronous replica devices based on thick images.
User avatar
Bohdan (staff)
Staff
 
Posts: 437
Joined: Wed May 23, 2007 12:58 pm


Return to Beta

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests