StarWind iSCSI SAN
StarWind Native SAN for Hyper-V
 

StarWind iSCSI SAN Version 8.0 Beta-2

Public beta (bugs, reports, suggestions, features and requests)

Moderators: art (staff), anton (staff), Anatoly (staff), Max (staff)

Re: StarWind iSCSI SAN Version 8.0 Beta-2

Postby DUOK » Tue Nov 26, 2013 8:11 pm

Bohdan (staff) wrote:Please try once again.


Now YES!!! version 8.0.6180

Thanks,
DUOK
 
Posts: 14
Joined: Thu Dec 08, 2011 9:33 pm

Re: StarWind iSCSI SAN Version 8.0 Beta-2

Postby Ironwolf » Tue Nov 26, 2013 11:07 pm

Got the new version, it now gives indication that an Image file failed :)
Attachments
127.0.0.1-3261-service-starwind-20131126-142147.zip
(20.89 KiB) Downloaded 588 times
FailedIMG.PNG
FailedIMG.PNG (37.2 KiB) Viewed 15000 times
User avatar
Ironwolf
 
Posts: 59
Joined: Fri Jul 13, 2012 4:20 pm

Re: StarWind iSCSI SAN Version 8.0 Beta-2

Postby Ironwolf » Tue Nov 26, 2013 11:28 pm

hmm... the LSFS LUNs failed to mount also
here is the new log file
Attachments
127.0.0.1-3261-service-starwind-20131126-142147.zip
(28.16 KiB) Downloaded 583 times
User avatar
Ironwolf
 
Posts: 59
Joined: Fri Jul 13, 2012 4:20 pm

Re: StarWind iSCSI SAN Version 8.0 Beta-2

Postby Alex (staff) » Wed Nov 27, 2013 5:26 pm

Ironwolf,

1. ImageFile issues: ImageFile devices don't support disks with 4k block size now. Previous versions allowed to create devices on such disks, but devices could function incorrectly.
Now we have added check for 4k block size at the stage of device initialization.

2. one of structures of LSFS devices has been changed in the latest build of 8.0 beta. It led to incompatibility with LSFS devices that have been created with previous builds.
LSFS devices on the disk with 4k block size should function properly. You can just re-create LSFS devices.
It's possible to add backward-compatibility for this case, but we decided not to do it, as these are beta-builds, not releases.

Thank you for feedback!
Best regards,
Alexey.
User avatar
Alex (staff)
Staff
 
Posts: 177
Joined: Sat Jun 26, 2004 8:49 am

Re: StarWind iSCSI SAN Version 8.0 Beta-2

Postby barrysmoke » Sat Nov 30, 2013 5:44 am

barrysmoke wrote:I think I found the bottleneck. It's either a previously known passthrough issue with the lsi 9271-8i, and vmware 5.1, or it is an issue with firmware on my intel oem chassis. those are the only 2 things that are different, and I'm getting much better results testing on my second chassis.

I'll update here when I find out for sure.


confession...I found that it was my lack of exact replication of my testing environment. while previously testing stormagic, I had my iometer vm on a seperate ssd, and added a 100gig virtual disk on the iscsi datastore to be tested. when I moved on to test starwind, I had actually put the starwind vm on an ssd mirror, and I put my iometer vm on the same ssd mirror...looks like that was a no no. when I put the iometer vm back on a seperate ssd, I'm getting the fast results I expect, on par with my previous tests.
barrysmoke
 
Posts: 86
Joined: Tue Oct 15, 2013 5:11 pm

Re: StarWind iSCSI SAN Version 8.0 Beta-2

Postby barrysmoke » Sat Nov 30, 2013 8:40 am

still having issue with ramdisk, and l1 cache of any kind, while starwind is running on a virtual machine inside a vmware 5.1 server.
i tried creating a 128gig ramdisk inside a vm, so I could compare my starwind san performance with a ramdisk i use a 100gig thick zero test disk added to my iometer vm for iops testing.....no go. vmware errors out when trying to format the new ramdisk datastore, invalid path.

I was able to create a 128Meg ramdisk, but when benchmarking, it kills the write performance. 100 iops range, instead of 19k to 50k depending on the disks I use.
in know this is an unusual request, but it would help to be able to benchmark starwind inside a vmware vm. I wonder if there is something I can do on the starwind vm configuration besides the memory reservation.
I did not deploy with the vsan option on starwind software. is there something that process does differently than just manually installing starwind v8 on a windows server vm?

here is what the log looks like:
http://bsmokeman.no-ip.biz/fileshare/127.0.0.1-3261-service-starwind-20131129-232053.log.zip
barrysmoke
 
Posts: 86
Joined: Tue Oct 15, 2013 5:11 pm

Re: StarWind iSCSI SAN Version 8.0 Beta-2

Postby barrysmoke » Mon Dec 02, 2013 7:31 pm

should I start a new thread with the ramdisk problem under a vmware vm, or can you guys replicate it?
barrysmoke
 
Posts: 86
Joined: Tue Oct 15, 2013 5:11 pm

Re: StarWind iSCSI SAN Version 8.0 Beta-2

Postby Bohdan (staff) » Tue Dec 03, 2013 4:31 pm

barrysmoke wrote:still having issue with ramdisk, and l1 cache of any kind, while starwind is running on a virtual machine inside a vmware 5.1 server.
i tried creating a 128gig ramdisk inside a vm, so I could compare my starwind san performance with a ramdisk i use a 100gig thick zero test disk added to my iometer vm for iops testing.....no go. vmware errors out when trying to format the new ramdisk datastore, invalid path.

I was able to create a 128Meg ramdisk, but when benchmarking, it kills the write performance. 100 iops range, instead of 19k to 50k depending on the disks I use.
in know this is an unusual request, but it would help to be able to benchmark starwind inside a vmware vm. I wonder if there is something I can do on the starwind vm configuration besides the memory reservation.
I did not deploy with the vsan option on starwind software. is there something that process does differently than just manually installing starwind v8 on a windows server vm?

here is what the log looks like:
http://bsmokeman.no-ip.biz/fileshare/127.0.0.1-3261-service-starwind-20131129-232053.log.zip

Thanks for the feedback! We are checking it in our testlab and I believe we'll find the way to fix it.
As for the vSAN, currently there is now difference. You may deploy it manually installing StarWind inside the VM.
User avatar
Bohdan (staff)
Staff
 
Posts: 435
Joined: Wed May 23, 2007 12:58 pm

Re: StarWind iSCSI SAN Version 8.0 Beta-2

Postby barrysmoke » Wed Dec 04, 2013 10:11 pm

also, catch my thread on ramdisk, more details:
starwind-f5/ramdrive-caching-t3358.html
barrysmoke
 
Posts: 86
Joined: Tue Oct 15, 2013 5:11 pm

Re: StarWind iSCSI SAN Version 8.0 Beta-2

Postby anton (staff) » Thu Dec 05, 2013 1:40 am

Sure. We do follow.

barrysmoke wrote:also, catch my thread on ramdisk, more details:
starwind-f5/ramdrive-caching-t3358.html
Regards,
Anton Kolomyeytsev

Chief Technology Officer & Chief Architect, StarWind Software

Image
User avatar
anton (staff)
Site Admin
 
Posts: 3931
Joined: Fri Jun 18, 2004 12:03 am
Location: British Virgin Islands

Re: StarWind iSCSI SAN Version 8.0 Beta-2

Postby barrysmoke » Thu Dec 05, 2013 8:24 am

I made a comment about v8 on a 2008 server not having ramdisk functionality...I had tested between builds, and it was moved in the interface. my bad!
it's there, and doing another test.
barrysmoke
 
Posts: 86
Joined: Tue Oct 15, 2013 5:11 pm

Re: StarWind iSCSI SAN Version 8.0 Beta-2

Postby anton (staff) » Thu Dec 05, 2013 3:14 pm

Nice to hear you're fine now. Please keep us updated about your progress. Thank you!

barrysmoke wrote:I made a comment about v8 on a 2008 server not having ramdisk functionality...I had tested between builds, and it was moved in the interface. my bad!
it's there, and doing another test.
Regards,
Anton Kolomyeytsev

Chief Technology Officer & Chief Architect, StarWind Software

Image
User avatar
anton (staff)
Site Admin
 
Posts: 3931
Joined: Fri Jun 18, 2004 12:03 am
Location: British Virgin Islands

Re: StarWind iSCSI SAN Version 8.0 Beta-2

Postby barrysmoke » Tue Dec 10, 2013 6:32 pm

the ramdisk issue with errors, and dataloss was due to vaai. bohdan from starwind helped me disable vaai until a new build.
search gooogle for vaai, and you'll find the vmware page with all info, including how to disable.
barrysmoke
 
Posts: 86
Joined: Tue Oct 15, 2013 5:11 pm

Re: StarWind iSCSI SAN Version 8.0 Beta-2

Postby anton (staff) » Tue Dec 10, 2013 10:45 pm

Fixed bug related to VAAI so you'll have new build to test pretty soon. Thank you!

barrysmoke wrote:the ramdisk issue with errors, and dataloss was due to vaai. bohdan from starwind helped me disable vaai until a new build.
search gooogle for vaai, and you'll find the vmware page with all info, including how to disable.
Regards,
Anton Kolomyeytsev

Chief Technology Officer & Chief Architect, StarWind Software

Image
User avatar
anton (staff)
Site Admin
 
Posts: 3931
Joined: Fri Jun 18, 2004 12:03 am
Location: British Virgin Islands

Re: StarWind iSCSI SAN Version 8.0 Beta-2

Postby Bohdan (staff) » Tue Dec 10, 2013 11:13 pm

Actually it is our additional detailed tracing and logging for VAAI in beta build. And, yes, it is already turned off (fixed).
I'll update the build soon.
User avatar
Bohdan (staff)
Staff
 
Posts: 435
Joined: Wed May 23, 2007 12:58 pm

PreviousNext

Return to Public Beta

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests