StarWind iSCSI SAN
StarWind Native SAN for Hyper-V
 

Luns in Starwind not showing in SCVMM

Public beta (bugs, reports, suggestions, features and requests)

Moderators: art (staff), anton (staff), Anatoly (staff), Max (staff)

Luns in Starwind not showing in SCVMM

Postby geekChamp » Tue Apr 02, 2013 5:28 am

Diclaimer: I'm a SAN/Starwind noob, so sorry if I'm asking redundant/stupid questions.

Hi,
I have two LUNs created in Starwind which are working fine.

I downloaded the beta star wind SMI-S package and installed it and configured the IP & Imagepath to where the Lun's image files are.

However in SCVMM I get these:

ConcretePool_Storage_Flat
ConcretePool_Storage_HA
ConcretePool_Storage_ThinProvisioned

None of these sizes are the Luns I created in Starwind. Is this expected behaviour?
Thanks
GC
geekChamp
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Tue Apr 02, 2013 5:22 am

Re: Luns in Starwind not showing in SCVMM

Postby omar.alshalah » Tue Apr 02, 2013 7:10 am

This is exactly the problem I'm facing, It will discover the pools but it won't show any created LUNs ..
I don't know if this is normal or not ...

Maybe someone here can help ?
omar.alshalah
 
Posts: 5
Joined: Mon Apr 01, 2013 7:08 am

Re: Luns in Starwind not showing in SCVMM

Postby Bohdan (staff) » Tue Apr 02, 2013 1:37 pm

You should create the LUNs with SCVMM console in order to be visible for it.
User avatar
Bohdan (staff)
Staff
 
Posts: 437
Joined: Wed May 23, 2007 12:58 pm

Re: Luns in Starwind not showing in SCVMM

Postby geekChamp » Tue Apr 02, 2013 5:55 pm

Bohdan,
Thanks for the reply.

Is it different because this is the beta? the procedure does not match the pdf published for it.

So, when the volumes are presented, you don't enable any of it, but create a new one in SCVMM?
Has someone written a guide? I can create a blog for the community if it helps others, but I need to get it working first :)
geekChamp
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Tue Apr 02, 2013 5:22 am

Re: Luns in Starwind not showing in SCVMM

Postby geekChamp » Wed Apr 03, 2013 11:31 pm

Hi,
Can someone please follow up with more specific reply please?

Thanks
geekChamp
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Tue Apr 02, 2013 5:22 am

Re: Luns in Starwind not showing in SCVMM

Postby omar.alshalah » Thu Apr 04, 2013 4:15 am

Based on my understanding, you need to create the storage pool only on the StarWind server.
After that all the work will be accomplished from the SCVMM (e.g creating LUNs & assigning those LUNs to hyper-V servers)
omar.alshalah
 
Posts: 5
Joined: Mon Apr 01, 2013 7:08 am

Re: Luns in Starwind not showing in SCVMM

Postby Anatoly (staff) » Thu Apr 04, 2013 10:13 am

geekChamp,

May I ask you if you have any update on this?
Best regards,
Anatoly Vilchinsky
Global Engineering and Support Manager
www.starwind.com
[email protected]
User avatar
Anatoly (staff)
Staff
 
Posts: 1675
Joined: Tue Mar 01, 2011 8:28 am

Re: Luns in Starwind not showing in SCVMM

Postby geekChamp » Thu Apr 04, 2013 12:42 pm

Sorry guys, I'm not able to understand.

So, I have two LUNs exposed in starwind - I have 3 HyperV hosts and they are able to connect to it and are clustered using these LUNS (all this is outside SCVMM)

Now, I import these hosts & clusters in SCVMM.

I go into the fabric, storage, and I'm not able to see these LUNS there.

What are my next steps?

Thanks
geekChamp
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Tue Apr 02, 2013 5:22 am

Re: Luns in Starwind not showing in SCVMM

Postby omar.alshalah » Sun Apr 07, 2013 6:29 am

I faced exactly same problem, so I removed everything from starwind & created it from the SCVMM
after that I connected the LUNs to the servers ...

This is the only solution I found ...
omar.alshalah
 
Posts: 5
Joined: Mon Apr 01, 2013 7:08 am

Re: Luns in Starwind not showing in SCVMM

Postby Bohdan (staff) » Tue Apr 09, 2013 1:55 pm

User avatar
Bohdan (staff)
Staff
 
Posts: 437
Joined: Wed May 23, 2007 12:58 pm

Re: Luns in Starwind not showing in SCVMM

Postby anton (staff) » Fri Sep 06, 2013 8:55 pm

Upgrade to R2 SCVMM Preview and StarWind V8 Beta. You be good! (c) ...
Regards,
Anton Kolomyeytsev

Chief Technology Officer & Chief Architect, StarWind Software

Image
User avatar
anton (staff)
Site Admin
 
Posts: 3922
Joined: Fri Jun 18, 2004 12:03 am
Location: British Virgin Islands


Return to Beta

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests