StarWind iSCSI SAN
StarWind Native SAN for Hyper-V
 

MPIO Configuration

Public beta (bugs, reports, suggestions, features and requests)

Moderators: art (staff), anton (staff), Anatoly (staff), Max (staff)

MPIO Configuration

Postby misabel » Tue May 01, 2012 9:51 pm

Hi,

I'm having difficulty getting the MPIO configuration correctly. I’ve been able to configure MPIO using the following method for the Microsoft iSCSI target in order to leverage the 2 x 1Gbps connections of the server. i.e. I have a session per initiator IP and target IP

Right now, I can only use 1Gbps with the StarWind target.

Here's what I've done:

Starwind Server
- 2 IP, all active in the Network section of the StarWind Configuration section)
- Created a new target, checked Allow multiple concurrent iSCSI connections (clustering)
- I then added a new Hard Disk device (Basic Virtual) using an Image File device and specified the Asynchronous mode for the device and selected Normal for the cache mode
- To grant access to the server that will use the LUN, I’ve created a new rule with the source being the IQN of the initiator of the server and the IQN of the target created above.

Initiator Server (2 IP)
- In the iSCSI initiator of the Windows Server 8
o In the Discovery tab, under Target Portal, I added the 2 IPs of the StarWind server
o In the targets tab, I connect the target I created above
 I check Enable multi-path and click Advanced
 In the Local Adapter drop down, I pick Microsoft iSCSI initiator
 In the initiator IP, I pick one of 2 IPs on my initiator server
 In the Target portal IP drop down, I only have 1 of the IP of the StarWind target
 If I leave the Local Adapter to Default, then I can see the 2 IP of the target


Am I missing something?

Thanks!

Mathieu
misabel
 
Posts: 5
Joined: Tue May 01, 2012 9:08 pm

Re: MPIO Configuration

Postby anton (staff) » Tue May 01, 2012 10:13 pm

Biggest question is - are you really using beta version or you're using 5.8 release?
Regards,
Anton Kolomyeytsev

Chief Technology Officer & Chief Architect, StarWind Software

Image
User avatar
anton (staff)
Site Admin
 
Posts: 3922
Joined: Fri Jun 18, 2004 12:03 am
Location: British Virgin Islands

Re: MPIO Configuration

Postby misabel » Tue May 01, 2012 10:20 pm

Another question, would I need to have the MPIO Windows feature installed on the StarWind server side?
misabel
 
Posts: 5
Joined: Tue May 01, 2012 9:08 pm

Re: MPIO Configuration

Postby misabel » Tue May 01, 2012 10:23 pm

Hi Anton,

I'm using version 5.9 Build 20120418. I've had a similar issue with 5.8 that I couldn't resolve. I was hoping that version 5.9 might help.

Mathieu
misabel
 
Posts: 5
Joined: Tue May 01, 2012 9:08 pm

Re: MPIO Configuration

Postby anton (staff) » Tue May 01, 2012 11:02 pm

It's configuration rather then anything else feature. In a couple of hours support staff should come to you case. Stay tuned :)
Regards,
Anton Kolomyeytsev

Chief Technology Officer & Chief Architect, StarWind Software

Image
User avatar
anton (staff)
Site Admin
 
Posts: 3922
Joined: Fri Jun 18, 2004 12:03 am
Location: British Virgin Islands

Re: MPIO Configuration

Postby jsmithv » Fri Oct 19, 2012 3:07 pm

Was there ever a resolution to this question? I am experiencing the same issue. I only see one of the two IP's I entered into the discovery tab. Using Starwind Free 6.0.4837.

Starwind Server:
IP1: 10.30.0.5
IP2: 10.30.1.5
Device: Asynch Mode - Yes
Target: Allow Multiple - Yes

Initiator:
IP1: 10.30.0.10
IP2: 10.30.1.10

Like the original poster, I try to enable multipath, click advanced, but only get 10.30.0.5 as the IP choice for "target portal ip" when I change the options from all defaults.

Any help would be appreciated,
jsmithv
 
Posts: 11
Joined: Mon Oct 15, 2012 3:56 pm

Re: MPIO Configuration

Postby Bohdan (staff) » Fri Oct 19, 2012 4:02 pm

Uncomment
<!--<iScsiDiscoveryListInterfaces value="1"/>-->
option in the starwind.cfg file
<iScsiDiscoveryListInterfaces value="1"/>
and restart starwind service
User avatar
Bohdan (staff)
Staff
 
Posts: 437
Joined: Wed May 23, 2007 12:58 pm

Re: MPIO Configuration

Postby jsmithv » Fri Oct 19, 2012 4:30 pm

That did the trick! Thanks so much. Seeing great numbers now over 2x1Gbps mpio between the server and initiator. Thanks,
jsmithv
 
Posts: 11
Joined: Mon Oct 15, 2012 3:56 pm

Re: MPIO Configuration

Postby Anatoly (staff) » Sun Oct 21, 2012 11:27 am

We are always glad to assist you!

Please do not hesitate to contact usshould you have any additional questions. It would be ourpleasure to further assist you!
Best regards,
Anatoly Vilchinsky
Global Engineering and Support Manager
www.starwind.com
[email protected]
User avatar
Anatoly (staff)
Staff
 
Posts: 1675
Joined: Tue Mar 01, 2011 8:28 am

Re: MPIO Configuration

Postby rjkunde » Thu Nov 01, 2012 8:35 pm

If I restart the starwind service, does that disconnect the current iSCSI targets or disrupt the production environment?
rjkunde
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Thu Nov 01, 2012 8:34 pm

Re: MPIO Configuration

Postby anton (staff) » Thu Nov 01, 2012 10:14 pm

Obviously YES.

So the only way to have no downtime - configure a HA.

rjkunde wrote:If I restart the starwind service, does that disconnect the current iSCSI targets or disrupt the production environment?
Regards,
Anton Kolomyeytsev

Chief Technology Officer & Chief Architect, StarWind Software

Image
User avatar
anton (staff)
Site Admin
 
Posts: 3922
Joined: Fri Jun 18, 2004 12:03 am
Location: British Virgin Islands

Re: MPIO Configuration

Postby rjkunde » Wed Dec 05, 2012 3:24 pm

I'm configuring an HA environment right now using StarWind 6, but this will still require downtime.... we are using version 5.7 currently, which is why I asked about the StarWind service...
rjkunde
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Thu Nov 01, 2012 8:34 pm

Re: MPIO Configuration

Postby Anatoly (staff) » Thu Dec 06, 2012 10:49 am

Well, actually this question is well described in our FAQ. Here is the link:
http://www.starwindsoftware.com/starwind-faq#q_20

I hope it helped
Best regards,
Anatoly Vilchinsky
Global Engineering and Support Manager
www.starwind.com
[email protected]
User avatar
Anatoly (staff)
Staff
 
Posts: 1675
Joined: Tue Mar 01, 2011 8:28 am


Return to Beta

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests