StarWind iSCSI SAN
StarWind Native SAN for Hyper-V
 

Maybe this due to being in the same PC I created the VM from

VM image converter (VMDK, VHD, VHDX, IMG, RAW, QCOW and QCOW2), P2V migrator

Moderators: art (staff), anton (staff), Anatoly (staff), Max (staff)

Maybe this due to being in the same PC I created the VM from

Postby lsepolis123 » Thu Sep 03, 2020 6:43 pm

I used StarWind V2V Converter to convert my PC to vmdk in an external hdd
But I can Not boot from vmdk in Vmware Workstation pro

Maybe this due to being in the same PC I created the VM from? Is May having conflicts? Between c:/ and the vmdk from this c:/
...?

I proceed to start VM[VMWARE WORKSTATION PRO 15.X] : 

https://youtu.be/NK9745csJgc

VM can Not boot up // SEE ERROR AT 05:27 & 06:27 in the video

what choose at in the video at
01:47 UEFI / OR / BIOS   ????
in the video at 04:05 CONVERT TO NEWER FORMAT  ????

WELL???
lsepolis123
 
Posts: 13
Joined: Thu Sep 03, 2020 6:38 pm

Re: Maybe this due to being in the same PC I created the VM from

Postby lsepolis123 » Fri Sep 04, 2020 4:28 am

is my C:/ drive - c:/ disk converted[with starwind v2v converter], with recovery partitions

PLEASE REPLY - ANY POSSIBILITY OF CONFLICT:

I HAVE boot the VM[VMDK - CONVERTED FROM MY C DISK], from the same machine I got the vmdk from... may have conflicts[the UEFI - same c:/ disk signature???] the actual c:/ with the vmdk/c: ????
lsepolis123
 
Posts: 13
Joined: Thu Sep 03, 2020 6:38 pm

Re: Maybe this due to being in the same PC I created the VM from

Postby yaroslav (staff) » Fri Sep 04, 2020 7:52 am

Greetings,

1. there are no conflicts. Just convert that disk to VMDK, and add it to the VM. It really helps if you provide us with any screenshots or tell what exacly error you have.
2. chose BIOS as a boot option.
yaroslav (staff)
Staff
 
Posts: 480
Joined: Mon Nov 18, 2019 11:11 am

Re: Maybe this due to being in the same PC I created the VM from

Postby lsepolis123 » Fri Sep 04, 2020 1:25 pm

https://youtu.be/NK9745csJgc

VM can Not boot up // see error in the video at 05:27 & 06:27 in the video


So the error due choose UEFI
Have to choose BIOS instead... even my system was uefi... true?
On Mac Vmware Fusion
Or Windows 10 Vmware Workstation pro
Have to choose BIOS both?
lsepolis123
 
Posts: 13
Joined: Thu Sep 03, 2020 6:38 pm

Re: Maybe this due to being in the same PC I created the VM from

Postby lsepolis123 » Fri Sep 04, 2020 5:19 pm

I have both a macbookpro catalina 2016 15" with Fusion latest i think of 2019

And Windows 10 Pro desktop PC with Vmware Workstation pro 15.x

So try in macbookpro, choosing UEFI? Again choose UEFI in Fusion or BIOS During create from virtual disk procedure? In PC uefi using mouse to navigate so is uefi, not bios... but what choose in Fusion?

May in PC have conflicts guest boot loader with host,...?

Posted also here:

https://communities.vmware.com/message/2982206#2982206
lsepolis123
 
Posts: 13
Joined: Thu Sep 03, 2020 6:38 pm

Re: Maybe this due to being in the same PC I created the VM from

Postby lsepolis123 » Sat Sep 05, 2020 4:32 am

yaroslav (staff) wrote:Greetings,

1. there are no conflicts. Just convert that disk to VMDK, and add it to the VM. It really helps if you provide us with any screenshots or tell what exacly error you have.
2. chose BIOS as a boot option.


So retry in my macbookpro Vmware Fusion, but choose BIOS, even my system converted to vmdk file was UEFI...? Correct?
lsepolis123
 
Posts: 13
Joined: Thu Sep 03, 2020 6:38 pm

I attached W10Pro.vmdk to Ubuntu VM --- here is in gpart ^^^

Postby lsepolis123 » Sat Sep 05, 2020 8:50 am

https://yadi.sk/i/caog3YiI_4Oe5Q

I attached W10Pro.vmdk to Ubuntu VM --- here is in gpart ^^^

can you understand why not boot when is a virtual disk in VM in Vmware Workstation Pro 15.x...???
lsepolis123
 
Posts: 13
Joined: Thu Sep 03, 2020 6:38 pm

Re: Maybe this due to being in the same PC I created the VM from

Postby lsepolis123 » Sat Sep 05, 2020 1:54 pm

Do you know what to try, getting: // ...?

see attachment
Attachments
20200905_164807Z.jpg
20200905_164807Z.jpg (111.96 KiB) Viewed 334 times
lsepolis123
 
Posts: 13
Joined: Thu Sep 03, 2020 6:38 pm

Re: Maybe this due to being in the same PC I created the VM from

Postby lsepolis123 » Sun Sep 06, 2020 2:47 am

2020-09-06_05-43-34.png
2020-09-06_05-43-34.png (25.57 KiB) Viewed 327 times


2020-09-06_05-44-37.png
2020-09-06_05-44-37.png (24.97 KiB) Viewed 327 times



diskpart screenshots
Any hint of what to try????
lsepolis123
 
Posts: 13
Joined: Thu Sep 03, 2020 6:38 pm

Re: Maybe this due to being in the same PC I created the VM from

Postby lsepolis123 » Sun Sep 06, 2020 5:00 am

Vol 3 in my case is the efi partition? How find system partition
?
https://docs.microsoft.com/en-us/window ... techref-di

Repair the system partition

If the system partition has been corrupted, you can use BCDBoot to recreate the system partition files by using new copies of these files from the Windows partition.

Boot your PC to a command line. For example, boot to the Windows installation disk and press Shift+F10, or boot to Windows PE (WinPE: Create USB Bootable drive).
Use Diskpart to determine which drive letter contains your Windows partition and system partition (diskpart, list vol, exit).
Optional: Format your system partition: format (drive letter of your system partition) /q
Add a boot entry for your Windows partition: bcdboot D:\Windows
Reboot the PC. Windows should appear.
lsepolis123
 
Posts: 13
Joined: Thu Sep 03, 2020 6:38 pm

Re: Maybe this due to being in the same PC I created the VM from

Postby lsepolis123 » Sun Sep 06, 2020 7:52 am

In my case give the command in cmd line
bcdboot C:\Windows
?
lsepolis123
 
Posts: 13
Joined: Thu Sep 03, 2020 6:38 pm

Re: Maybe this due to being in the same PC I created the VM from

Postby lsepolis123 » Sun Sep 06, 2020 1:39 pm

I gave this cmd

bcdboot C:\Windows



when booting in VM from ISO Windows 10 2004, and went in cmd prompt



Now boots OK
lsepolis123
 
Posts: 13
Joined: Thu Sep 03, 2020 6:38 pm

Re: Maybe this due to being in the same PC I created the VM from

Postby yaroslav (staff) » Sun Sep 06, 2020 8:29 pm

Hi there,

Were you able to boot your VM after P2V conversion?
yaroslav (staff)
Staff
 
Posts: 480
Joined: Mon Nov 18, 2019 11:11 am

Re: Maybe this due to being in the same PC I created the VM from

Postby lsepolis123 » Thu Sep 10, 2020 2:24 pm

Yes
lsepolis123
 
Posts: 13
Joined: Thu Sep 03, 2020 6:38 pm

Re: Maybe this due to being in the same PC I created the VM from

Postby yaroslav (staff) » Fri Sep 11, 2020 7:06 am

Glad to know that.
Let us know if any additional assistance is required.
yaroslav (staff)
Staff
 
Posts: 480
Joined: Mon Nov 18, 2019 11:11 am

Next

Return to StarWind V2V Converter, StarWind P2V Migrator

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest