Where is the thin provision option?

VM image converter (VMDK, VHD, VHDX, IMG, RAW, QCOW and QCOW2), P2V migrator

Moderators: anton (staff), art (staff), Max (staff), Anatoly (staff)

Post Reply
ClearChowder
Posts: 1
Joined: Mon Jan 15, 2018 11:14 pm

Mon Jan 15, 2018 11:24 pm

I'm converting a vmdk file to be compatible with ESXi.

Is there an option to thin provision the vmdk file? As I step through the V2V Converter wizard, I do not see it.

My new vmdk file is 125GB, whereas the original file is only 21GB.
Boris (staff)
Staff
Posts: 805
Joined: Fri Jul 28, 2017 8:18 am

Tue Jan 16, 2018 10:37 am

In the current release it is not possible to convert a file into thin provisioned ESXi vmdk. This functionality is planned to be added in further releases.
mcisar
Posts: 1
Joined: Sun Apr 24, 2022 6:37 pm

Sun Apr 24, 2022 6:39 pm

Just wondering if the ability to output a thin .vmdk has been added since the original post in 2018?
yaroslav (staff)
Staff
Posts: 2345
Joined: Mon Nov 18, 2019 11:11 am

Mon Apr 25, 2022 10:21 am

Hi,

No, the feature has not been added so far.
Please note that thin disks might be causing potential performance issues and result in overprovision of the storage.
candicarl
Posts: 1
Joined: Mon May 30, 2022 6:48 am
Contact:

Mon May 30, 2022 7:35 am

Is it possible to add it to the next version?
yaroslav (staff)
Staff
Posts: 2345
Joined: Mon Nov 18, 2019 11:11 am

Mon May 30, 2022 8:33 am

Hi,

Thank you for your request. The feature request has been logged.
caylakling
Posts: 1
Joined: Mon Feb 06, 2023 9:38 am
Contact:

Mon Feb 06, 2023 9:43 am

This feature is not available at this time.
yaroslav (staff)
Staff
Posts: 2345
Joined: Mon Nov 18, 2019 11:11 am

Mon Feb 06, 2023 11:45 am

Please see the release notes. It actually is there for a while.
huntshaded
Posts: 1
Joined: Tue Dec 05, 2023 4:11 am
Contact:

Tue Dec 05, 2023 4:14 am

Yes, it's been out for a while, I've been using it
jumlouhasa
Posts: 1
Joined: Mon Jan 08, 2024 9:31 am

Mon Jan 08, 2024 9:32 am

huntshaded wrote:Yes, it's been out for a while, I've been using it
How do you see the quality? I'm looking to start using it.
yaroslav (staff)
Staff
Posts: 2345
Joined: Mon Nov 18, 2019 11:11 am

Mon Jan 08, 2024 9:54 am

You can check the success stories and reach out to support@starwind.com for a demo.
Post Reply