StarWind iSCSI SAN
StarWind Native SAN for Hyper-V
 

VHD/VHDX to VMWare 6

VM image converter (VMDK, VHD, VHDX, IMG, RAW, QCOW and QCOW2)

Moderators: art (staff), anton (staff), Anatoly (staff), Max (staff)

VHD/VHDX to VMWare 6

Postby Epnk » Mon May 16, 2016 6:10 pm

Hello all,

I'm having a conversion issue when converting a vhd and vhdx vm to VMWare 6. The image copies over successfully and I'm able to bring them up but for some reason the VM is stripped of applications... as if its a new windows install.

Here area the details and steps I have taken...

Host HyperV server: 2012 Datacenter 64 R2
VM OS: Windows server 2008 64b VHDX
Destination VM host: VMWare 6

Actions:
1. Exported VHDX VM and used Starwind to convert to VMWare format.
2. Converted VHDX VM to VHD format and directly converted to VMWare format (not an exported HyperV file)

Results:
HyperV file converted and boots in VMWare, in both instances, but applications are not present.
When exporting, in Starwind, I chose compatibility for VMWare 5.1, 5.5 and 6. Each attempt resulted in the same, no applications present.

Questions:
1. Did I miss a checkbox or something? Is there an option that I'm not seeing that restores a VM to clean state during the conversion?
2. Is Starwind compatible with Server 2012 R2 and Server 2008 VMs?

I added a couple of photos. I appreciate everyone's time, thanks for taking a look and for your responses!

Eric
Attachments
issue2.JPG
After conversion
issue2.JPG (28.93 KiB) Viewed 8516 times
issue1.JPG
Before conversion
issue1.JPG (32.53 KiB) Viewed 8516 times
Epnk
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Mon May 16, 2016 5:29 pm

Re: VHD/VHDX to VMWare 6

Postby PoSaP » Tue May 17, 2016 12:50 pm

Hi Epnk,
It`s strange behavior for V2V from my experience.
As far as I know, there is only one chekbox before converting, and it`s windows repair mode.
And repair mode allows you to adapt OS to the new hardware.
As we can read from the whitepaper: StarWind V2V Converter allows for the conversion of VMs from one format to another, basically “cloning” VMs and keeping the original copy intact. https://www.starwindsoftware.com/whitep ... epaper.pdf
So I can only suggest you to try to convert it again.
PoSaP
 
Posts: 49
Joined: Mon Feb 29, 2016 10:42 am

Re: VHD/VHDX to VMWare 6

Postby Epnk » Tue May 17, 2016 6:24 pm

Thanks for your response, PoSaP.

I tried several conversions and they all display the same issue. I also ran the conversion utility provided by VMWare vCenter standalone client on the VM once converted and still did not resolve the issue. Guess I'll have to build a new VM from scratch.

Thanks again,
Eric
Epnk
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Mon May 16, 2016 5:29 pm

Re: VHD/VHDX to VMWare 6

Postby Dmitry (staff) » Wed May 18, 2016 9:33 am

Thank`s, you can try to convert the other VM, and take a look what you get.
It`s strange issue, I`ll tell our RnD about this accident.
Do not hesitate to ask any additional questions.
Dmitry (staff)
Staff
 
Posts: 82
Joined: Fri Mar 18, 2016 11:46 am


Return to StarWind V2V Converter

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests