StarWind iSCSI SAN
StarWind Native SAN for Hyper-V
 

Convert multipart VHD to VMDK

VM image converter (VMDK, VHD, VHDX, IMG, RAW, QCOW and QCOW2)

Moderators: art (staff), anton (staff), Anatoly (staff), Max (staff)

Convert multipart VHD to VMDK

Postby aderuwe » Fri Aug 26, 2011 7:29 pm

I have downloaded a set of Hyper-V images. The documentation states there are 6 different virtual images in this pack. It looks like there is a "common" vhd that is used by all the images as its 27 GB. The other images are all around ~1.4 GB.

I can convert the "common" vhd, but when trying to convert the smaller, 1.4 GB files, I get this error:

Code: Select all
Error opening file (2) [3]


I'm trying to use VMWare Workstation 7 instead of Hyper-V. Is it possible for StarWind V2V Converter to convert these types of images?
aderuwe
 
Posts: 5
Joined: Fri Aug 26, 2011 7:17 pm

Re: Convert multipart VHD to VMDK

Postby aderuwe » Mon Aug 29, 2011 4:55 pm

Bump.

Anyone have an idea?
aderuwe
 
Posts: 5
Joined: Fri Aug 26, 2011 7:17 pm

Re: Convert multipart VHD to VMDK

Postby Vitalii (staff) » Mon Aug 29, 2011 5:03 pm

The error occurs when the converter cannot find any file. But it seems that all files are in place.

Is there a source of these images, so we could download it ant test by ourselves?
User avatar
Vitalii (staff)
Staff
 
Posts: 44
Joined: Mon Jun 07, 2010 8:49 am

Re: Convert multipart VHD to VMDK

Postby aderuwe » Mon Aug 29, 2011 5:23 pm

Yeah, the files work fine when I mount them in Hyper-V, but I'd rather use VMware.

This is the source, but the files add up to about ~10 gigs, so I don't expect you guys to troubleshoot that for me (especially for a free app). Just curious if you had any experience converting these types of Hyper-V VMs.

Thanks for the reply, by the way!
aderuwe
 
Posts: 5
Joined: Fri Aug 26, 2011 7:17 pm

Re: Convert multipart VHD to VMDK

Postby Vitalii (staff) » Tue Aug 30, 2011 4:48 pm

I made some investigation, so there is it:

You should place the common image to the specified folder (because its position is hard coded):
C:\Temp\BTSDevCourse\VM\common\BizTalk2010Demo.vhd

This should do the job.

The image you should get, may be non-bootable,
See this thread: post11359.html#p11359 for information how to make it bootable.
User avatar
Vitalii (staff)
Staff
 
Posts: 44
Joined: Mon Jun 07, 2010 8:49 am

Re: Convert multipart VHD to VMDK

Postby aderuwe » Tue Aug 30, 2011 6:35 pm

You are the man! I will try it later this afternoon.

Thanks so much for your help.
aderuwe
 
Posts: 5
Joined: Fri Aug 26, 2011 7:17 pm

Re: Convert multipart VHD to VMDK

Postby anton (staff) » Wed Aug 31, 2011 10:38 am

Please keep us updated about your progress. Thank you!
Regards,
Anton Kolomyeytsev

Chief Technology Officer & Chief Architect, StarWind Software

Image
User avatar
anton (staff)
Site Admin
 
Posts: 3922
Joined: Fri Jun 18, 2004 12:03 am
Location: British Virgin Islands

Re: Convert multipart VHD to VMDK

Postby Vitalii (staff) » Wed Aug 31, 2011 4:35 pm

There is a bug in the converter, it will not convert the multipart VHD correctly.

I am now working on fixing it, the working version will be available soon.
User avatar
Vitalii (staff)
Staff
 
Posts: 44
Joined: Mon Jun 07, 2010 8:49 am

Re: Convert multipart VHD to VMDK

Postby aderuwe » Wed Aug 31, 2011 4:50 pm

Yes, it did not work. I tried what you suggested and I got the error:

Code: Select all
Error opening file (2) [5]


You guys provide amazing support for a free product. Thanks a bunch.
aderuwe
 
Posts: 5
Joined: Fri Aug 26, 2011 7:17 pm

Re: Convert multipart VHD to VMDK

Postby Vitalii (staff) » Thu Sep 01, 2011 12:57 pm

Code: Select all
Error opening file (2) [5]

means access violation error - some of the files is used by other application. Check it.

And then, try this version:
http://www.starwindsoftware.com/tmplink ... 110831.exe

It should correctly convert the image (if you place common image to the folder I mentioned above)
If you add this image as additional disk to any existing VM, all data should be accessible.

But when you try to boot it, it should give a blue screen (no boot device) and then reboot with a repair option. You may try make it bootable by fixing it.

I tried to run command prompt and fix it with bootsect.exe (it is in windows package), but still no success.

Please, keep me updated if you manage to boot it.
Thanks
User avatar
Vitalii (staff)
Staff
 
Posts: 44
Joined: Mon Jun 07, 2010 8:49 am


Return to StarWind V2V Converter

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest