StarWind iSCSI SAN
StarWind Native SAN for Hyper-V
 

vmdk to vhd error loading operating system

VM image converter (VMDK, VHD, VHDX, IMG, RAW, QCOW and QCOW2)

Moderators: art (staff), anton (staff), Anatoly (staff), Max (staff)

vmdk to vhd error loading operating system

Postby gbrown » Fri Dec 17, 2010 2:56 am

built a vm with vmware workstation 7. need to convert to vhd so used the v2v, which seemed to work with no errors. But when I try to boot the vhd, I get message "Error Loading Operating Sysytem"

Any help please.
gbrown
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Fri Dec 17, 2010 2:54 am

Re: vmdk to vhd error loading operating system

Postby marcos_tcc » Fri Dec 17, 2010 1:38 pm

Gbrow,

I'm experience the same problem, problably becouse windows fail when we change hardware. The VPC hardware is different of VMW hardware.
marcos_tcc
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Fri Dec 17, 2010 1:36 pm

Re: vmdk to vhd error loading operating system

Postby anton (staff) » Mon Dec 20, 2010 3:57 pm

Guys, we're converting images. We don't do Virtual-to-Virtual migration (which requires altering the data on the image to achieve different emulated hardware).
Regards,
Anton Kolomyeytsev

Chief Technology Officer & Chief Architect, StarWind Software

Image
User avatar
anton (staff)
Site Admin
 
Posts: 3922
Joined: Fri Jun 18, 2004 12:03 am
Location: British Virgin Islands

Re: vmdk to vhd error loading operating system

Postby TheDonMiguel » Thu Jan 06, 2011 7:08 pm

As said, the OS has to be modified to run on antother system (like VPC). This should / could work:

1) make sure you have a backup of your current VMware VM hard disk, the *.vmdk file(s).

2) You've to uninstall the VMware tools. After words this can't be done anymore as VMware uninstaller aborts when the VM is run on antother technology as VMware...

3) To remove all old hardware you could run "sysprep". This will clean all the hardware specific settings from the OS. Choose the option to shut down the OS when finished.

4) Now it's time to convert this vmdk into a vhd using the StarWind V2V Converter.

5) Create a new VM in VPC and use this new created VHD. The process will now install all new hardware.

Note, VPC only supports VHD lower 127 GB. Otherwise the images has to be resized. Check this: http://www.server-talk.eu/2009/12/15/er ... e-ide-bus/

Hope this helps...

Cheers
Michel
TheDonMiguel
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Thu Jan 06, 2011 10:26 am
Location: Switzerland

Re: vmdk to vhd error loading operating system

Postby anton (staff) » Thu Jan 06, 2011 8:08 pm

Wow! Amazing job done! Thank you very much!
Regards,
Anton Kolomyeytsev

Chief Technology Officer & Chief Architect, StarWind Software

Image
User avatar
anton (staff)
Site Admin
 
Posts: 3922
Joined: Fri Jun 18, 2004 12:03 am
Location: British Virgin Islands

Re: vmdk to vhd error loading operating system

Postby TheDonMiguel » Thu Apr 28, 2011 8:01 am

There is now also a detailed article online: http://www.server-talk.eu/2011/03/18/ho ... umwandeln/

Cheers
Michel
TheDonMiguel
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Thu Jan 06, 2011 10:26 am
Location: Switzerland

Re: vmdk to vhd error loading operating system

Postby anton (staff) » Thu Apr 28, 2011 8:07 am

It's a pity it's German-only... Do you happen to have any plans to provide English version as well?
Regards,
Anton Kolomyeytsev

Chief Technology Officer & Chief Architect, StarWind Software

Image
User avatar
anton (staff)
Site Admin
 
Posts: 3922
Joined: Fri Jun 18, 2004 12:03 am
Location: British Virgin Islands


Return to StarWind V2V Converter

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests