StarWind iSCSI SAN
StarWind Native SAN for Hyper-V
 

Error converting from vhd to .vmdk (Esxi)

VM image converter (VMDK, VHD, VHDX, IMG, RAW, QCOW and QCOW2)

Moderators: art (staff), anton (staff), Anatoly (staff), Max (staff)

Error converting from vhd to .vmdk (Esxi)

Postby maz124s » Fri Dec 04, 2009 12:28 am

Hi

I was wondering if anyone could help with me with this problem, i recently started using your Convertor V2V program, i found a major issue with when converting vhd images to vmware esxi format, the conversion works fine and then i upload the new .vmdk file into a datastore, which is seemingly completes fine and is displayed as being there in the datastore

When I then go to add the .vmdk as a hard disk it is then not recognised and it is missing

I have tried this with multiple vhd files with the same result can you shed any light on why this is occurring?
maz124s
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Fri Dec 04, 2009 12:25 am

Re: Error converting from vhd to .vmdk (Esxi)

Postby anton (staff) » Sat Jan 16, 2010 6:44 pm

Can you send us a screenshot and provide with a link to sample failing image container?
Regards,
Anton Kolomyeytsev

Chief Technology Officer & Chief Architect, StarWind Software

Image
User avatar
anton (staff)
Site Admin
 
Posts: 3922
Joined: Fri Jun 18, 2004 12:03 am
Location: British Virgin Islands

Re: Error converting from vhd to .vmdk (Esxi)

Postby wlawn » Mon Aug 09, 2010 3:27 pm

Did you ever find a solution to your issue? I have the same problem.

Thanks.
wlawn
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Mon Aug 09, 2010 3:24 pm

Re: Error converting from vhd to .vmdk (Esxi)

Postby anton (staff) » Mon Aug 09, 2010 6:40 pm

There were issues with sparse VMDK files. Are you using the most recent version of V2V Converter software?

wlawn wrote:Did you ever find a solution to your issue? I have the same problem.

Thanks.
Regards,
Anton Kolomyeytsev

Chief Technology Officer & Chief Architect, StarWind Software

Image
User avatar
anton (staff)
Site Admin
 
Posts: 3922
Joined: Fri Jun 18, 2004 12:03 am
Location: British Virgin Islands

Re: Error converting from vhd to .vmdk (Esxi)

Postby rolandocgs » Thu Mar 24, 2011 3:10 pm

Actually I just posted a new topic of this problem and I am sorry I didn't find this topic opened before but this is the same issue I had when I did a pre-allocated image it just didn't show but when I did the growable image it showed and allowed me to use it as a hard disk but then failed when I ran the virtual machine.
rolandocgs
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Thu Mar 24, 2011 3:02 pm

Re: Error converting from vhd to .vmdk (Esxi)

Postby anton (staff) » Thu Mar 24, 2011 4:16 pm

Use pre-allocated.

rolandocgs wrote:Actually I just posted a new topic of this problem and I am sorry I didn't find this topic opened before but this is the same issue I had when I did a pre-allocated image it just didn't show but when I did the growable image it showed and allowed me to use it as a hard disk but then failed when I ran the virtual machine.
Regards,
Anton Kolomyeytsev

Chief Technology Officer & Chief Architect, StarWind Software

Image
User avatar
anton (staff)
Site Admin
 
Posts: 3922
Joined: Fri Jun 18, 2004 12:03 am
Location: British Virgin Islands


Return to StarWind V2V Converter

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest